New Milford Board of Education Annual Meeting Minutes December 9, 2014 Sarah Noble Intermediate School Library Media Center

3

Present:	Mrs. Angela C. Chastain Mr. Robert Coppola Mrs. Wendy Faulenbach Mr. David A. Lawson Mr. Dave Littlefield Mr. David R. Shaffer Mrs. Daniele Shook Mr. John W. Spatola (arrived at 7:02 p.m.)	FECHVED T ELENK	014 DEC 12 A 9:29	HEW MILFERD, CT
Absent:	Mrs. Theresa Volinski			

Also Present:	Present: Dr. JeanAnn Paddyfote, Superintendent of Schools	
	Mr. Joshua Smith, Assistant Superintendent of Schools	
	Ms. Ellamae Baldelli, Director of Human Resources	
	Mr. Jay Hubelbank, Director of Fiscal Services and Operations	
	Ms. Roberta Pratt, Director of Technology	
	Mrs. Laura Olson, Director of Pupil Personnel and Special Services	
	Mr. John Calhoun, Facilities Manager	

1.	Call to Order A. Pledge of Allegiance The annual meeting of the New Milford Board of Education was called to order at 7:00 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance immediately followed the call to order.	Call to Order Pledge of Allegiance
2.	Recommended Action A. Election of Board Officers 1. Chairperson	Recommended Action 1. Chairperson
	Dr. Paddyfote opened the meeting by asking for nominations for the position of Chairperson.	
	• Mr. Coppola asked if a majority of votes would be needed to win and Dr. Paddyfote said yes, a majority of the Board members present.	
	Mr. Spatola arrived at 7:02 p.m.	 A state of cost and state of a state of a
	 Mr. Coppola asked if one could speak to the nomination after it was made and Dr. Paddyfote said yes. 	
	Mrs. Shook nominated Mrs. Chastain who was	Mrs. Chastain was nominated and

New Milford Board of Education Annual Meeting Minutes December 9, 2014 Sarah Noble Intermediate School Library Media Center

unanimously elected.	unanimously elected Chairperson.
2. Vice Chairperson	2. Vice Chairperson
Mrs. Chastain asked for nominations for the position of Vice Chairperson.	
Mr. Coppola nominated Mrs. Faulenbach. Mrs. Faulenbach said she would not accept the nomination. Mrs. Faulenbach nominated Mr. Littlefield.	Mrs. Faulenbach and Mr. Littlefield were nominated for Vice Chairperson.
• Mr. Coppola said he nominated Mrs. Faulenbach because she could fill the role of chairman at the drop of a hat due to her years of knowledge of the Board and Board procedures. Mrs. Faulenbach thanked Mr. Coppola for his thoughts.	
Mrs. Faulenbach received four votes (Mr. Coppola, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Shaffer, Mr. Spatola). Mr. Littlefield received four votes (Mrs. Chastain, Mrs. Faulenbach, Mr. Littlefield, Mrs. Shook).	The vote ended in a tie.
The election ended in a tie and so a re-vote was suggested.	
Mrs. Chastain asked for nominations for the position of Vice Chairperson.	
Mrs. Shook nominated Mr. Littlefield. Mr. Coppola nominated Mrs. Faulenbach.	Mrs. Faulenbach and Mr. Littlefield were nominated for Vice Chairperson.
Mr. Littlefield received four votes (Mrs. Chastain, Mrs. Faulenbach, Mr. Littlefield, Mrs. Shook). Mrs. Faulenbach received four votes (Mr. Coppola, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Shaffer, Mr. Spatola).	The vote ended in a tie.
The election ended in a tie and it was determined to move to the election of Secretary before returning to Vice Chairperson.	
3. Secretary	3. Secretary
Mrs. Chastain asked for nominations for the position	

ž

New Milford Board of Education Annual Meeting Minutes December 9, 2014 Sarah Noble Intermediate School Library Media Center

Ť

a,

	of Secretary.	
	Mrs. Shook nominated Mrs. Faulenbach who was unanimously elected Secretary.	Mrs. Faulenbach was nominated and unanimously elected Secretary.
	4. Assistant Secretary	4. Assistant Secretary
	Mrs. Chastain asked for nominations for Assistant Secretary.	
	Mr. Spatola nominated Mrs. Volinski. Mrs. Chastain nominated Mr. Lawson.	Mr. Lawson and Mrs. Volinski were nominated for Assistant Secretary.
	Mr. Lawson received five votes (Mrs. Chastain, Mrs. Faulenbach, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Shaffer, Mrs. Shook).	
	Mrs. Volinski received three votes (Mr. Coppola, Mr. Littlefield, Mr. Spatola).	
	Mr. Lawson was elected Assistant Secretary.	Mr. Lawson was elected Assistant Secretary
	Mrs. Chastain asked for nominations for the position of Vice Chairperson.	·
	Mrs. Faulenbach nominated Mr. Littlefield and Mr. Littlefield received seven aye votes and one abstention (Mr. Coppola) and was elected Vice Chairperson.	Mr. Littlefield was nominated and elected Vice Chairperson.
3.	Adjourn	Adjourn
	Mrs. Faulenbach moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:14 p.m., seconded by Mr. Littlefield and passed unanimously.	Motion made and passed unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 7:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

- aulorka h moly

Wendy Faulenbach Secretary New Milford Board of Education