

Williamsburg County School District

Post Office Box 1067-Kingstree, SC 29556 Telephone: (843) 355-5571 Fax: (843) 355-3213 www.wcsd.k12.sc.us



Dr. Kelvin Wymbs, Superintendent

IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 5, 2024

HEMINGWAY HIGH SCHOOL CELEBRATES WITH RIBBON CUTTING AND ALUMNI GAME

On Saturday, November 30, 2024, Hemingway High School hosted a Ribbon Cutting and Alumni Basketball Game to celebrate the recent renovations to the gymnasium. The community turned out in large numbers to witness this historic day for Hemingway. The renovations included new seating and flooring, featuring modern graphics designed for the gymnasium floor that highlight the school's blue, orange, and white colors. A large tiger, representing the school's mascot, was beautifully illustrated in the center of the gymnasium floor. The program showcased both current and former members of the Hemingway Tiger Family.

The event began with a welcome and introduction by Ms. Donna Palmer Lewis, the HHS Assistant Principal, followed by an invocation from Rev. Dexter Thomas, Pastor of the St. James Baptist Church. Ms. Chakonis Pressley, the HMBLMS Instructional Coach, introduced the past championship teams from Hemingway High School: the 1972-1973 Boys' Championship Team, the 1992-1993 Girls' Championship Team, the 1997-1998 Boys' Championship Team, the 1998-1999 Boys' Championship Team, the 2002-2003 Boys' Championship Team, the 2009-2010 Boys' Championship Team, the 2012-2013 Girls' Championship Team, the 2016-2017 Boys' Championship Team, and the 2017-2018 Boys' Championship Team.

A Candle Lighting and Moment of Silence were held for those who have passed away, facilitated by Ms. Latonya Parker, the Athletic Booster Club President. Those honored included: Mr. Ronald Williamson (Principal from 1984-2004), Theresa Flowers (1992-1993), Mrs. Venice Singletary (1992-1993), Mr. Anderson Wilson (2002-2003 & 2009-2010), Mr. Levi Keith (Principal from 2008-2015), Mr. Woody Curtis (Assistant Principal & Athletic Director, 2016-2017), Darious McCray (2016-2017), and Jaquan "Koon" Julius (2017-2018).

The ribbon-cutting participants were: Dr. Kelvin Wymbs (WCSD Superintendent), Myron Frieson (Principal of HHS & HMBLMS), Donna Palmer Lewis (HHS Assistant Principal), Ms. Yolanda Cox Cooper (HMBLMS Assistant Principal), and Ms. Colleen Kelty (HMBLMS Assistant Principal). Ms. Chakonis Pressley also introduced the 2024-2025 Basketball Teams and Coaches: B-Team Girls – Coach Jasmine Cyrus, B-Team Boys – Coach Patrick Cumbee, JV Boys – Coach Marcus Mitchell, Varsity Girls – Coaches Chakaris Thomas & Quinton Brown, and Varsity Boys – Coaches Mark Brailsford & Ricardo Anderson. Myron Frieson, Principal of HHS & HMBLMS, provided special recognitions, followed by remarks from Dr. Kelvin Wymbs and Senator Ronnie Sabb. The event concluded with an Alumni Basketball Game.