

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 9, 2023 Media Center

The special meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Barb Tumberg, Kent Schmidt, Julie Bushinger, Dan Lawson, Brandon Kern, Melissa Seelhammer and Supt. Lee Westrum.

Also present: Brian Jacobson, Tyler Church, Norm Gallant, Vicki Gerdes, Lori Christensen, Lynn Dyer, Glenn Chiodo, Katie Polman, Michael Ortmann, Kyle Gylsen

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the Agenda. Motion approved unanimously.

Elected Board members Melissa Seelhammer, Julie Bushinger and Brandon Kern took the Oath of Office.

The Board conducted the organizational items on the agenda:

I. ANNUAL ELECTION OF OFFICERS

A. OFFICE OF CHAIR:

Tumberg nominated Lawson for the office of Chair. Call of other nominations. None given. Lawson elected Chair by acclamation.

B. OFFICE OF VICE CHAIR:

Tumberg nominated Schmidt to the office of Vice Chair. Call for other nominations. None given. Schmidt elected Vice Chair by acclamation.

C. OFFICE OF CLERK:

Seelhammer nominated Tumberg to the office of Clerk. Call for other nominations. None given. Tumberg elected Clerk by acclamation.

D. OFFICE OF TREASURER:

Schmidt nominated Seelhammer to the office of Treasurer. Call for other nominations. None given. Seelhammer elected Treasurer by acclamation.

- II. OTHER:
 - A. REGULAR BOARD MEETING DATES AND TIMES:

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the 2023 regular monthly meeting schedule with location changes to Media Center, Deer Creek (June) and Bluffton (October). Motion approved unanimously.

January	17	Tuesday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
February	21	Tuesday – 5:30 pm	Media Center



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 9, 2023 Media Center

March	20	Monday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
April	17	Monday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
May	15	Monday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
June	12	Monday – 5:30 pm	Deer Creek
July	10	Monday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
July	31	Monday - 5:30 pm	Media Center
August	21	Monday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
September	18	Monday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
October	16	Monday – 5:30 pm	Bluffton
November	20	Monday – 5:30 pm	Media Center
December Media Center	18	Monday – 5:30 pm	Truth in Taxation Hearing,

B. NAMING OF OFFICIAL PUBLICATION: A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to name the Wadena Pioneer Journal as the official publication. Motion approved unanimously.

C. NAMING OF OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES:

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Seelhammer, to name the official depositories as such: the Board authorized Wadena State Bank for checking accounts; the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund for investments, wire transfers, bond payments and receipt of state of money; and MN Trust for investments and receipts. Motion approved unanimously.

D. FINANCIAL AUTHORIZATION:

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Seelhammer, to authorize the Business Manager, Senior Bookkeeper, Student Activity Administrative Assistant, and Payroll Clerk to use the facsimile signatures of the officers on school district checks after proper School Board and/or Superintendent authorization approving the payments of said claims or services, to make wire transfers, and to invest school funds in qualifying investments per previous listing of designated financial institutions. Motion approved unanimously.

E. FEDERAL PROGRAM REPRESENTATIVE: A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmidt, to name Superintendent Lee Westrum, Business Manager Brian Jacobson, Elementary



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 9, 2023 Media Center

Principal Louis Rutten, and Senior Bookkeeper Megan Martin as official representatives and contact persons for Title I, Title II, Title IV and all other federal programs. Motion approved unanimously.

- F. AUTHORIZATION TO APPOINT SCHOOL ATTORNEY: A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Bushinger, to give authorization to the School Board Chair and/or Superintendent to appoint a school attorney as needed. Motion approved unanimously.
- G. SCHOOL BOARD COMPENSATION RATES FOR 2022: A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to keep the current rate of \$2,200 for each school board member, plus \$600 additional for chair, \$135 for vice chair, clerk and treasurer, and an additional \$1,175 for board negotiators. Motion approved unanimously.
- H. COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS: The Board Chair will make committee assignments and notify members of their committees.
- I. RESOLUTION FOR PART-TIME EMPLOYMENT OF SCHOOL BOARD MEMBER: A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to approve a resolution for part-time employment for Kent Schmidt and Barb Tumberg. Motion passed 4-0 with Schmidt and Tumberg abstaining.
- J. RESOLUTION FOR AUTOMATIC APPROVAL OF MSBA POLICY UPDATES: A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to approve a resolution for automatically approving MSBA Policy Updates. Motion approved unanimously.

The Board participated in a listening session with ICS and Administration for potential facilities improvements.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to adjourn the meeting at 7:04 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Tuesday, January 17, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. in the Media Center.

Respectfully submitted by:

Date:

Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk

Date:		
-------	--	--

Dan Lawson, Board Chair