

Dr. Mark Scott

Board Members

Helen Hughes, Chair Dr. Rick Unruh, Vice Chair Dave Crockett Mark Ivory Lori Johnson Jon Nichols Bryan Upshaw

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: December 9, 2024

Release #2024/25 - 031

Contact: Jennifer C. Jones, Director of Community & School Affairs, (478) 988-6390, Jennifer.C.Jones@hcbe.net

Houston County School District Leaders Receive Statewide Awards



Mark Sams Principal, Feagin Mill Middle School



William Basby
Assistant Principal,
Northside Middle School



Trathenia EvansAssistant Principal,
Northside Middle School



Elizabeth Foster
Assistant Principal,
Bonaire Middle School

HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – Four Houston County School District leaders were recently recognized at the annual Georgia Association of Middle School Principals Conference in Athens.

Mark Sams, Principal at Feagin Mill Middle School, was the recipient of the Jerry Davis Georgia Distinguished Principal Award. This award honors outstanding middle school principals in Georgia.

William Basby, Assistant Principal at Northside Middle School, received the Hal Beaver Georgia Outstanding Assistant Principal Award. This award is given to assistant principals who have demonstrated strong leadership.

Lastly, the Mike Campbell Emerging Leader Award was presented to Trathenia Evans, Assistant Principal at Northside Middle School, and Elizabeth Foster, Assistant Principal at Bonaire Middle School. This award is given to outstanding assistant principals with less than three years of experience as assistant principals.

###





