

## INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

July 10, 2023 Robertson Theatre

The regular meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Brandon Kern, Julie Bushinger, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

Also present: Brian Jacobson, Louis Rutten, Norm Gallant, Katie Polman, Nicole Stracek, Tanya Collins, Deb Nelson, Amos Self, Marc Reynolds, Adwina Anderson, Mark Anderson, Mike Ortmann, Cindy Lemke, Ryan Wolfenden, Brian M, Aaron Spicer, Sarah Spicer, Deb Hartman, Bill Hartman, Vick Nelson, Gayle Kenney, Jacob H, Kaisa Nelson, Shawn Nelson, Lowen

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to approve the Agenda. Motion approved unanimously.

The Board recognized Amber Collins and Lyrik Haug for their participation in the state track and field meet.

The following individuals addressed the Board during the Public Forum Period: Robert Segovia Deb Hartman Amos Self Deb Nelson

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the June 12, 2023 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the July 6, 2023 Special Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the hires of Stephanie Nelson, Elementary Social Worker and Thomas Gasser, Business Education Teacher. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger to approve the separation agreement with Leonard Anderson. Members in favor: Kern, Seelhammer, Tumberg, Schmidt, Bushinger, Lawson Members opposed: none Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the following Disbursements:

Vendor Check #'s 43891 - 44008

\$284,753.63



## INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

July 10, 2023 Robertson Theatre

Credit Card (BMO Harris Bank): Student Activity Check #'s 23082 - 23101 \$10,262.73 \$3,450.98

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the following donations to the district:

Donor	Purpose	Amount
Kyle Dykhoff, DBA H&R Block	Summer Rec Shirts	\$202.50
Cathy Roberts	NHS Day of Caring	\$100.00
Dollars for Drama	Drama	\$24.00
Astera Health	Danceline	\$2,000.00

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the MREA membership renewal for \$2,335.00. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the MSBA membership renewal for \$5,583.00. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve MSHSL membership renewal. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve a resolution to designate Lee Westrum as the district's Identified Official with Authority for Education Identity Access Management (IOwA). Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the Property Liability and Workers Comp insurance quote. Motion approved 5-0 with Bushinger abstaining. (Property move from EMC to Liberty Mutual - beat by approx. \$22,000, similar coverage. WC stay with RAS - increase of apropos \$23,000 but the lower quote.)

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to approve a resolution adopting the LTFM Ten Year Plan. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to adjourn the meeting at 6:15 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.



## INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

July 10, 2023 Robertson Theatre

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, August 21, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. in the Robertson Theatre.

Respectfully submitted by:

Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk

\_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_\_\_\_

Dan Lawson, Board Chair

\_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_\_\_\_