Minutes – Executive Session

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session after a short break on June 19, 2023 beginning at 7:40 P.M. Board members present were Yearout, Rutherford, Sanders, Eichler, and Eckhoff. Parrott and Smallwood were absent.

Kevin Smith, Becky Eifert, and Michelle Smith were also present. Adam Curtis was absent.

Mr. Smith shared a letter of resignation from Adalia Sewell for JH Math for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion made by Sanders, seconded by Eichler to release Adalia Sewell from her probationary contract for the 2023-2024 school year. Motion carries as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-absent; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 ayes 0 no.

Mrs. Eifert recommended Hannah Carson for the Part-time Preschool Aide position. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Eckhoff, to hire Hannah Carson for the Part-time Preschool Aide position. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-absent; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 ayes 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended Brad Drehle for 5/7th of the JH Math position for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Rutherford, seconded by Eckhoff to hire Brad Drehle for 5/7th of the JH Math position. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-absent; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 ayes 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended Lane Johnson for 2.5/7th of the JH Math position for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Eichler to hire Lane Johnson for 2.5/7th of the JH Math position. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-absent; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 ayes 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared the positions of Elementary Counselor and JH Softball are still open, and will remain open until filled.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Eichler, seconded by Sanders to adjourn the executive session at 7:50 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-absent; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 ayes 0 no.

President, Board of Education

Secretary, Board of Education