Proceedings July 11, 2022

The school board of Clark School District #12-2 convened in regular session in the library on Monday, July 11, 2022 at 6:00pm. The following members were in attendance, Malory McIntire, Greg Marx, Bob Steffen, Todd Fjelland and Nathan Luvaas. Also in attendance: Superintendent- Travis Ahrens, Business Manager- Mary Nelson, Elementary Principal –Jon Redmond, MS/HS Principal – Jennifer Heggelund and Courier Reporter- Bill Krikac.

Budget hearing started at 6:00pm and ended at 6:37pm. No interested patrons were present.

2022-178

President Steffen called the meeting to order at 6:37pm with all members saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

2022-179

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to approve the agenda. All in favor.

No open forum No conflicts of interest or waivers.

2022-180 Moved by McIntire and seconded by Marx to approve minutes from June 13, 2022 regular board meeting, financial reports as of June 30, 2022. All in favor.

Review of final athletic coop expenses discussed with the board.

2022-181

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to adopt the supplemental budget for the 2021-2022 FY budget. All in favor.

2022-182

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Luvaas to approve rental agreement with P4 Manufacturing/Paul Streff for CTE course use. All in favor.

2022-183

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Marx to approve facility sponsorship agreement between district, city and Dacotah Bank of the youth softball/baseball field south of the MS/HS building. All in favor.

2022-184

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Fjelland to surplus the following items: 12 smartboards(junk) 30 blue chairs(cracked/poor condition) 2 old TVs, VCR. All in favor

2022-185

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Marx to review, discuss and approve Clark School District ARP ESSER plan(COVID) All in favor.

2022-186

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to adjourn the regular meeting of July 11, 2022 at 6:44pm. All in favor.

Travis Ahrens called the meeting to order at 6:45pm..

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to approve agenda with addition of executive session. All in favor.

Certificate of Election was presented to Robert Steffen(3yr term) along with administer oath.

2023-001

Mr Ahrens called for nomination of president.

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Luvaas to cast a unanimous ballot for Robert Steffen as President. All in favor

2023-002

President Steffen called for nomination for Vice-President

Moved by Marx and seconded by McIntire to cast a unanimous ballot for Todd Fjelland as Vice President. All in favor.

2023-003

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to set regular board meetings for 2nd Monday of each month at 6:30pm at the high school library; Dacotah Bank as the official depository; the Clark Courier as the legal newspaper; authorize continuation of the School Food Service agreement with the state of South Dakota; designate Rodney Freeman as legal counsel; Travis Ahrens as the Title II and School Improvement Coordinator, designate Travis Ahrens as the administrator for all Federal programs as well as the truant officer and transportation supervisor. Appoint Robert Steffen as the board member designated as the voting member of the ASBSD. Malory McIntire will be the representative for the NESC with Greg Marx and Robert Steffen as alternates. The line of authority as spelled out in policy is Travis Ahrens, Jennifer Heggelund, Jon Redmond and Mary Nelson, agree to join the SD United School Association and the Emergency Bus Pact.

2023-004

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Luvaas to set board member salaries at \$75 per meeting; designate Mary Nelson and Robert Steffen as the custodian of financial accounts along with having the authority to use the facsimile signature, set surety bond at \$50,000, Mary Nelson as the authorized signature for the Custodial Account, set the Imprest Fund at \$3,500, sub teacher pay for certified and certified with lapsed certification at \$125 per day and after 10 consecutive days, \$150 per day, noncertified at \$105 per day, paraprofessional sub at \$12.00 per hour & classified sub for janitorial/food service at \$12.00 per hour. Meal and mileage reimbursements to adults will follow state rate, currently as follows: \$0.42 per mile, \$6-breakfast, \$14-lunch, \$20-dinner. Student reimbursement for state events only will be \$10 per meal. School lunch costs rate at \$2.45 for preschool through grade 5, \$2.70 for grades 6 through 12, and \$4.01 for adults. Breakfast costs are set at \$1.30 for preschool through 5, \$2.00 for 6-12 \$.0.60 for after school snacks, \$.75 for extra entrée, \$0.30 for extra milk. Admission prices set at \$5 for adults and \$3 for students, doubleheaders at \$6 for adults and \$4 for students. Activity passes at \$15 for students and \$40-adults, \$25 for age 60 and over. Annual prices will be \$45 for the 22-23 school year. All in favor.

2023-005

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to set the following committee assignments: All in favor. NEGOTIATIONS: Fjelland & Steffen POLICY: Marx & McIntire BUILDING AND GROUNDS: Luvaas & Fjelland TECHNOLOGY: Marx & McIntire ATHLETIC COOP: Fjelland & Luvaas TRANSPORTATION: Steffen & Luvaas FINANCE: Marx & Steffen

2023-006

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by McIntire to approve July claim list presented for payment. All in favor.

2023-007

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to approve the district comprehensive plan for the 2022-2023 school year. All in favor.

Mr Ahrens informed everyone of ASBSD joint convention in Sioux Falls on August 4th and 5th, 2022.

2023-008

Moved by Fjelland seconded by Marx to discuss and approve Expetec contract services (Technology Service) All in favor.

2023-009

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to go into executive session at 7.34pm for personnel SDCL 1-25-2.1. All in favor.

Open session resumed at 7:58pm

2023-010

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to adjourn the July 11, 2022 regular meeting at 7:59pm.

ATTEST Board Chairperson, Robert Steffen Mary Nelson Business Manager