# STARK COUNTY COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #100 Stark, Knox, Marshall, Henry & Peoria Counties, Illinois

## Special Meeting - March 25, 2024

The Stark County Community Unit School District #100 Board of Education met Monday, March 25, 2024, at the Stark County Elementary Cafeteria. Members present were Emily Leezer, Ann Orwig, Erin Price, Joseph Rediger, Brian Rewerts, Dane Richards, and Bruce West. No members were absent. Also present were Brett Elliott, Superintendent; Jenna Bibb, Elementary Principal; candidates for next year's Elementary Principal position, Emily Mastin and Jackie Colgan; and a member of the press.

With a quorum present, the meeting was called to order by President, Mrs. Orwig, at 5:30 p.m.

## **Visitor Comments:**

There were no visitor comments.

### **New Business:**

Superintendent Elliott provided an overview of the selection process for the Stark County Elementary Principal position for the 2024-25 school year. He shared that the applicant pool was narrowed down to four to participate in the first round of interviews with a panel of faculty and administration. The interview panel made a recommendation for two to advance as finalists to be interviewed by the Board of Education and Superintendent. The final recommendation by Superintendent Elliott was made after deep reflection of the work over the past eleven months regarding our strategic planning; reflecting on the faculty, staff and parent focus group feedback that created the profile of our next elementary principal; our future needs with teaching and learning; growing our new and young teachers; meeting the needs of our students; the continued growth of our Professional Learning Communities; and listening to the needs of our students, parents, faculty and staff. Based on the interview process and candidates, Superintendent Elliott recommended the approval of Mrs. Emily Mastin as Principal of Stark County Elementary School for the 2024-25 school year. In addition, he recommended hiring Mrs. Jackie Colgan as Assistant Principal and Instructional Coach for Stark County Elementary School for the 2024-25 school year. No action taken during new business.

#### **Executive Session:**

Motion was made by Mr. Rewerts, seconded by Mrs. Leezer, to adjourn to Executive Session for the purpose of discussing employment at 5:35 p.m. Approved 7-0.

Motion was made by Mrs. Leezer, seconded by Mrs. Orwig, to reconvene from Executive Session at 5:45 p.m. and to hold the Executive Session minutes, Not for Release. Motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Mrs. Leezer made a motion to approve Emily Mastin as Principal of Stark County Elementary School for the 2024-25 school year. Seconded by Mr. Richards. Motion passed 7-0.

Motion was made by Mrs. Leezer, seconded by Mr. Rediger, to approve Jackie Colgan as Assistant Principal and Instructional Coach of the Stark County Elementary School for the 2024-25 school year. Motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Motion was made by Mrs. Leezer to approve Jackie Carroll as summer technology support staff for summer 2024. Mrs. Price seconded and the motion passed 7-0.

Mrs. Leezer made a motion to approve Grace Michal as Elementary Teacher for the 2024-25 school year. Seconded by Mr. West. Passed 7-0.

Motion was made by Mrs. Leezer to approve Sophia Elswick for the Vocal Director (6-12) stipend and Band Director (6-12) stipend for the spring 2024 semester. Seconded by Mr. Richards and approved 7-0.

Mrs. Leezer made a motion to approve Erin McClanahan as Elementary Music Teacher for the 2024-25 school year. Mrs. Orwig seconded and the motion passed 7-0.

Motion was made by Mrs. Leezer, seconded by Mr. West, to adjourn at 5:47 p.m. Motion was approved 7-0.

Ann Orwig	Emíly Leezer
President	Secretary

Approved 4/15/2024