# MINUTES Board Meeting May 24, 2021

The **board meeting** of the Tattnall County Board of Education was held on **May 24, 2021, 1:00 P.M.** The meeting was **called to order** with a **welcome** by Chairman Richard Bland, **prayer** by Ronnie Oliver and **pledge** to the Flag led by Mary Ruth Ray.

## Those board members present were:

Richard Bland Ronnie Oliver Stephanie Thomas Mary Ruth Ray Dale Kicklighter

## The board Superintendent present was:

Dr. Gina G. Williams

## **System staff members present were:**

Donna Bland, Carla Waters, Kristen Waters, Tina Debevec, Lakisha Bobbitt, Tisha Holland, David Tucker, Kelly Usry, Sasha Quarles, Nicole Balkcom, Julie Edwards, Donny Sikes, Starla Barker, Jennifer Brown, Amanda Folsom, Neil DeLoach, Tyrone Griffin, Hope Oliver, Lynna Hilliard, Frances Byrd, Diane Rawls, Janet Bussell, Allen Yancey, Robin Kirkland, Marika Crews, Angie Edwards, Cindy Palma, Debbie Powell, Trey Kirkland, Leigha Kirkley, Marcy Stewart, Jennifer Carlson, Lisa Burkhalter, Audrey Edwards, Sheila Kennedy, Dina DeLoach, Tabitha Smith, Madison McArthur, De'Anne Durham, Karla Collins, Teresa Epperson and Julie Todd

#### **Visitors present were:**

Pam Waters, *Journal-Sentinel*, Brenda Haire, Jena Brown, Jinny Haire, Stephen Brown, Judy Page, Ronald Page, Alex Winkler, Marlee McArthur, Paul Oliver, LaNell Oliver, Desiree Kennedy

On Motion of Stephanie Thomas, and seconded by Ronnie Oliver, the board unanimously adopted the agenda for May 24, 2021.

## Received presentations/requests from visitors/others:

(To assure that the board can conduct its business efficiently, all presentations should be brief and shall be limited, not to exceed five [5] minutes, unless an extension of time is granted. All personnel/student and real estate matters may be discussed in executive session.

- Recognized 12<sup>th</sup> District Congressional Winners of Stock Market Challenge: Alex Winkler and Jordyn English
- Recognized GA DOE Award of Excellence recipient: James Walden
- Recognized FFA winners:

Paul Oliver: State Proficiency in Swine Entrepreneurship

Zach Collins: State FFA Degree Desiree Kennedy: State FFA Degree

# • Recognized Youth Apprenticeship Completer of the Year: Madison McArthur

• Recognized 2020 Vision District:

**Robin Waters** 

• Recognized 2023 Tattnall County Teachers of the Year

**CES:** Jennifer Brown (System Winner)

RES: Amanda Folsom NTMS: Marcy Stewart GES: Julie Todd

STMS: De'Anne Durham TCHS: Janet Bussell

Recognized Retirees:

Jeannie Burkhalter
Lisa Burkhalter
Angela Edwards
Teresa Epperson
Diane Rawls
Allen Yancey
Sheila Kennedy
Robin Kirkland
Shirlene Smith
Tabitha Smith
Andrea McIntosh
Karla Collins

**Billy Collins** 

## II. ITEMS OF INFORMATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- A. Received reports from Superintendent.
  - 1. Superintendent reported:
    - a. Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Mary Ruth Ray and seconded by Dale Kicklighter, it was unanimous to approve Truck purchase from Reidsville Housing Authority.
    - b. Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Stephanie Thomas and seconded by Ronnie Oliver, it was unanimous to approve PA System proposal from Southeastern Technology.
    - c. Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Dale Kicklighter and seconded by Mary Ruth Ray, it was unanimous to approve Modular Buildings proposal from Vanguard Modular.
    - d. Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Stephanie Thomas and seconded by Mary Ruth Ray, it was unanimous to approve GPS/Bus camera system proposal from REI.
    - e. Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Mary Ruth Ray and seconded by Ronnie Oliver, it was unanimous to approve bank bid to South Georgia Bank.

#### III. SUPERINTENDENT'S RECOMMENDATIONS AND REPORTS

On motion of Dale Kicklighter and seconded by Stephanie Thomas, the board approved the consent agenda as presented for the May 24, 2021, meeting.

## A. Approved Minutes

Regular board meeting for Monday, April 26, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

В.	Employed certified personnel: (Effective 2021-2022)		
	(Employment is temporary/provisional until the receipt of a criminal records check/fingerprints and Georgia Teacher Certification).		
	Brandy Donnan, Teacher	Alexa Ortiz, Teacher	
	Carlee McLeod, Teacher	Jenna Cowart, Teacher	
	Joey Kennedy, Teacher	Starla Barker, Technology Director	
	Crystal Caraway, Teacher	Tisha Holland, Federal Programs Director	
	Allison Parr, Teacher	<b>Christine Jenkins, Principal</b>	
	Chrystal Hines, Teacher	Lisa Tyler, Asst. Principal	
	Charlton "Chaz" Kicklighter, Tea		
	, · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Claudia Martinez, Teacher (pending release of contract) Carlton Milton, Teacher (pending release of contract)	
	Cariton vinton, Teacher (pending	release of contract)	
C.	Employed non-certified personnel:		
		en Chancey, Parapro (Effective 2021-2022)	
	Tiffany Jordan, Parapro (Effective	Tiffany Jordan, Parapro (Effective 2021-2022)	
D	Approved release from 2021-2022 con	stract	
Teresa Mosley (49%), Teacher (Resignation, effective June 7, 2021)			
Matthew Swain, Teacher, (Resignation, effective June 7, 2021)			
E. Accepted April 2021, expenditures			
F. Approved summer school staff (see attached)			
G.	Approved Transportation surplus (but 100 - 1GBM7T1C8YJ500909) 102 - 1HVBRAAN92B920306 199 - 1GBM7T1C8XJ103392 699 - 4UZ6CJAA4XCA65178 407 - 4DRBUAAN67B493030	ises):	
IV.	Motioned by Mary Ruth Ray, the boa	ard adjourned at 2:12 p.m.	
Chairn	nan		
Vice Chair			
Board Member			
Board	Member		
Board	Member		
Board Member			
Secreta	ary		
Appro	oved: June 28, 2021		