

January 21, 2025

The regular and organizational meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Julie Bushinger, Brandon Kern, Amanda Schmidt, Barb Tumberg and Supt. Lee Westrum.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Dan Lawson, Barb Tumberg, and Amanda Schmidt were sworn in as School Board Members.

The Board recognized AAA Award Winners Montana Carsten and Kobe Snyder, and EXCEL Award Winners Anna Fiemeyer and Grant Nelson.

The Board conducted the organizational items on the agenda:

Bushinger nominated Dan Lawson to the office of Chair. No other nominations given. Lawson elected Chair by acclamation.

Tumberg nominated Julie Bushinger to the office of Vice Chair. Seelhammer nominated Brandon Kern for Vice Chair. A roll call vote was held with Kern, Seelhammer and Schmidt voting for Kern and Bushinger, Tumberg and Lawson voting for Bushinger. The office of Vice Chair remains open due to the tie vote.

Seelhammer nominated Barb Tumberg to the office of Clerk. No other nominations given. Tumberg elected Clerk by acclamation.

Kern nominated Melissa Seelhammer to the office of Treasurer. No other nominations given. Seelammer elected Treasurer by acclamation.

I. OTHER:

A. REGULAR BOARD MEETING DATES AND TIMES:

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Tumber, to approve the 2025 regular monthly meeting schedule as noted below. Motion approved unanimously.

January	21	Tuesday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
February	24	Tuesday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
March	17	Monday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
April	22	Tuesday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
May	19	Monday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
June	16	Monday 5:30 pm	Deer Creek
July	8	Tuesday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre



January 21, 2025

August	18	Monday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
September	15	Monday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
October	20	Monday 5:30 pm	Bluffton
November	24	Monday 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
December Robertson Theatre	15	Monday 5:30 pm	Truth in Taxation Hearing,

B. NAMING OF OFFICIAL PUBLICATION:

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to name the Wadena Pioneer Journal as the official publication. Motion approved unanimously.

C. NAMING OF OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES:

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to name the official depositories as Wadena State Bank, the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund, and MN Trust. Motion approved unanimously.

D. FINANCIAL AUTHORIZATION:

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to authorize the Business Manager, Senior Bookkeeper, Student Activity Administrative Assistant, and Payroll Clerk to use the facsimile signatures of the officers on school district checks after proper School Board and/or Superintendent authorization approving the payments of said claims or services, to make wire transfers, and to invest school funds in qualifying investments per previous listing of designated financial institutions. Motion approved unanimously.

E. FEDERAL PROGRAM REPRESENTATIVE:

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Seelhammer, to name Superintendent Lee Westrum, Business Manager Brian Jacobson, Elementary Principal Louis Rutten, and Senior Bookkeeper Megan Martin as official representatives and contact persons for Title I, Title II, Title IV and all other federal programs. Motion approved unanimously.

F. AUTHORIZATION TO APPOINT SCHOOL ATTORNEY:

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to give authorization to the School Board Chair and/or Superintendent to appoint a school attorney as needed. Motion approved unanimously.

G. SCHOOL BOARD COMPENSATION RATES FOR 2024: Agenda item tabled until the February meeting.

H. COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS:



January 21, 2025

The Board Chair will make committee assignments and notify members of their committees.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the December 16, 2024 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern seconded by Schmidt, to approve the hires of Brian Frame, MS/HS Paraprofessional; Patrick Hansen, Custodian; David Niemela, Custodian; Reid Miller, Full Time Bus Driver; Sheila Jackson, Elementary Library Paraprofessional; McKenzie Halverson, JH Softball; Amy Anderson, MS/HS Head Cook. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the resignations of Hanah Caron, JH Softball; Logan Caron, JH Softball; Doreen Moe, Food Service; Elise Kallevig, Elementary Library Paraprofessional. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve lane changes for Bethany Danielson, Abbie Schultz, Laura Kiser, Christine Ruda.

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the Manual Journal Entries as presented. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the following Disbursements:

 Vendor Check #'s
 47008-47255
 \$467,051.68

 Credit Card (BMO Harris Bank):
 \$8,458.94

 Student Activity Check #'s
 23357-23377
 \$26,928.81

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the following donations to the district:

Donor	Purpose	Amount
Curt & Diane Grenier	Wrestling	\$1,000.00
ECFE	ECFE Program	\$175.00
Community Charities of MN	Youth Athletics	\$2,000.00



January 21, 2025

Dave & Diane Peters	Hockey	\$100.00
Seelhammer Plumbing	Student Council	\$500.00
Ottertail Rod & Gun Club	Fishing League	\$1,500.00

Motion approved unanimously.

The Board held a discussion about the possibility of sharing the IT Director position with Wadena County.

Norm Gallant provided an update on the video board at the MS/HS.

The Board conducted the first reading of the policy updates. No action was taken. The Board will conduct a second reading and approval at the February meeting.

A second roll call vote was held for the office of Vice Chair with Kern, Seelhammer and Schmidt voting for Kern and Bushinger, Tumberg and Lawson voting for Bushinger. The office of Vice Chair remains open due to the tie vote and will be on the next meeting agenda.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to adjourn the meeting at 6:55 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, February 24, 2025 at 5:30 p.m. in the Robertson Theatre.

Respectfully submitted by:	
	Date:
Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk	
	Date:
Dan Lawson, Board Chair	