May 15, 2023

Minutes – Executive Session

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session after a short break on May 15, 2023 beginning at 6:00 P.M. Board members present were Yearout, Parrott, Rutherford, Sanders, Eichler, Smallwood, and Eckhoff.

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Becky Eifert, and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared a resignation letters from Kelly DeHaan, Kim Gumbel, and Amy Smith. A motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Eckhoff to accept the resignations as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford—yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Curtis recommended Kelsey Smith for JH Social Studies teacher. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Smallwood to employ Kelsey Smith for JH Social Studies teacher for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Curtis recommended Brittany Beeman for High School Secretary. A motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Eichler to employ Brittany Beeman for High School Secretary for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford—yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no

Mr. Curtis recommended Tracy Needy for Credit Recovery teacher. A motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Eckhoff to employ Tracy Needy for Credit Recovery teacher for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mrs. Eifert recommended Aleah Paxton for 5<sup>th</sup>/6<sup>th</sup> Grade Elementary teacher. A motion was made by Parrott seconded by Eichler to employ Aleah Paxton for 5<sup>th</sup>/6<sup>th</sup> Grade Elementary teacher for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mrs. Eifert recommended Tasha Rutherford for Elementary Secretary. A motion was made by Eckhoff, seconded by Eichler to employ Tasha Rutherford as Elementary Secretary for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford—yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared the additional extra duty/coaches listing for 2023-2024 for approval — Tyler Burke (Athletic Director); Aleah Paxton (Softball — Head Coach); Joannah Cook (Softball — Assistant Coach) Will Lynde (Baseball — Head Coach); Shawn Rhoades (Assistant Baseball), Connor Spunaugle (JH Baseball Head Coach), Luke Goosen (JH Baseball Assistant), Adalia Sewell (JH Softball Head

Minutes – Executive Session

Coach), --OPEN-- (JH Softball Assistant); Buddy Dill (Head Golf); Grace Eichler (JH Volleyball Assistant); and Michelle Paxton (Summer Weights Assistant girls). A motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Sanders to approve the spring sports extra duties/coaches as listed. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood- yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 ayes 0 no.

A discussion was had by board members regarding the process of hiring and dismissing staff members both teachers and support staff when it becomes necessary.

Mr. Curtis and Mrs. Eifert were excused from the meeting at 6:40 PM

Mr. Smith shared with the board salary schedules from the conference for the, Elementary Principal and High School Principal.

Mr. Smith recommended Adam Curtis, High School Principal, salary be increased by 3%. A motion made by Smallwood, seconded by Parrott to increase the salary by 3% for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford- yes; Parrott-yes: and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended that Becky Eifert, Elementary Principal, salary be increased by 3%. A motion made by Eichler, seconded by Parrott to increase the salary by 3% for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford- yes; Parrott-yes: and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Discussion was had regarding the salary increase for Mr. Smith, a motion made by Eichler, seconded by Sanders to increase Mr. Smith's superintendent salary by 7% for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no

Discussion was had regarding the Transportation Director increase for Mr. Smith, a motion made by Sanders, seconded by Rutherford to increase Mr. Smith's Transportation Director salary to Bus Driver base pay for the 2023-2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Parrott to adjourn the executive session at 6:54 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford- yes; Parrott-yes: and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education