HENRY COUNTY R1 SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING Tuesday, April 16, 2024, 6:00 P.M. Windsor High School/BOE Room, 210 North Street, Windsor, MO 65360

Members Present

Mr. Andy Burkhart Mr. Scott Swigert Mr. Steve Eggers Mr. Jason Heany Mr. David Cooley Mrs. Jennifer Pipal Mr. Jake Drenon <u>Others Present</u> Mr. Brad Hunter, Superintendent Mrs. Kimberly Evans, EL Principal Mr. Justin Wells, HS Principal

The open session was conducted in the Board of Education Room at 210 North Street.

Preliminaries of the Meeting

At 6:00 P.M. Board President Mr. Jason Heany declared a quorum and called the meeting to order.

II Welcome Guests, Pledge of Allegiance, Student Recognition

Mr. Jason Heany welcomed guests and all present recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

III Approval of Agenda

Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mr. Scott Swigert to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

IV Approval of Consent Agenda

Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mr. Scott Swigert to approve the consent agenda as presented - payment of bills for \$227,915.32 (ck nos.1085; 149408-149528), open minutes from March 14, 2024 and March 27, 2024, and financials. Motion carried.

V Adjourn Old Board

Mr. Steve Eggers moved with a second by Mr. Jake Drenon to adjourn the old board. Motion carried.

VI Oath of New Members

Mr. Andy Burkhart and Mrs. Jennifer Pipal were sworn into office for a term of three years by the Superintendent, Mr. Brad Hunter. After being sworn into office, each signed the oath of office, which forms part of the minutes.

VII Call to Order

Superintendent Mr. Hunter declared a quorum present and called the meeting to order. Reorganization of the Board was held with new members consisting of the following members: Mr. Andy Burkhart, Mr. David Cooley, Mr. Scott Swigert, Mr. Steve Eggers, Mr. Jake Drenon, Mrs. Jennifer Pipal, and Mr. Jason Heany.

VII Election of Officers

A. Mr. Steve Eggers moved with a second by Mr. Scott Swigert to nominate Mr. Jason Heany for the office of President. Motion passed 6-0. Mr. Jason Heany abstained from the vote.

B. Mr. Steve Eggers moved with a second by Mr. Scott Swigert to nominate Mrs. Jennifer Pipal for the office of Vice President. Motion passed 6-0. Mrs. Jennifer Pipal abstained from the vote.

C. Mrs. Jennifer Pipal moved with a second by Mr. Scott Swigert to appoint Mrs. Lora Howard as Secretary/Treasurer. Motion passed 6-0. Mr. Scott Swigert abstained from the vote.

IX Items of Information

• Deputy West presented to the board his day-to-day activities while in the district. He also informed the board that he attended a training session regarding better safety protocols and also spoke on the crisis hotline helpline.

X Administration Reports

Mr. Wells and Mrs. Evans were present for questions.

Mr. Hunter updated the board on the following:

- Asking for input regarding closing the elementary school playground as there have been issues with students after school hours.
- HCR1 will not be utilizing AAIS for the 24/25 school year.
- MAP/EOC testing will begin at the end of April.
- Gutter/Downspout work at WHS has been completed.
- HCR1 and Leeton will not be working together on Summer School.

XI New Business

• Insurance Rate Approval for SY 24-25

Consideration and Approval of Board Paid Insurance Rates for 2024-2025 was presented by Mr. Hunter. Mr. Hunter recommends accepting the renewal rates of \$688.57/month (PPO) and \$656.65/month (HSA) from Blue Cross Blue Shield of Kansas City secured through the bidding process by Bukaty Companies on behalf of the Henry County R1 School District for the 2024-2025 School Year. Mr. Steve Eggers moved with a second by Mrs. Jennifer Pipal to approve the insurance rates as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

• Salary Schedule Proposal for Certified, Classified, and Administration for SY 24-25

Mr. Hunter presented the proposed salary schedules for the 2024-2025 school year. Mr. Hunter recommends increasing the certified, administrative, technology, and maintenance salaries by 6%. Mr. Steve Eggers moved with a second by Mr. Scott Swigert to approve the proposed 6% increase to the certified, administrative, technology, and maintenance salary schedules. Motion carried 6-1.

Mr. Hunter presented the proposed classified salary schedule for the 2024-2025 school year. Mr. Hunter recommends raising the classified base salary to \$15/hr. Mrs. Jennifer Pipal moved with a second by Mr. Jake Drenon to increase the classified base salary to \$15/hr. Motion passed 6-1.

XII Approval of Executive Session

Mr. Scott Swigert moved with a second by Mr. Jake Drenon to enter executive session for consideration of matters relating to personnel with discussion, record, and vote of the meeting closed per 610.021 (3) of Missouri Statutes. Roll call vote: Burkhart-yes; Swigert-yes; Cooley-yes; Eggers-yes; Heany-yes; Pipal-yes; Drenon-yes. Motion carried 7-0.

XIII Adjournment

The meeting was properly adjourned at 6:51 P.M.

President, Board of Education

Secretary, Board of Education