The Fannin County Board of Education met in a called meeting with the following members present: Bobby Bearden, Chair; Lewis DeWeese, Vice Chair; Chad Galloway, and Steve Stanley. Terry Bramlett was absent.

Bobby Bearden, Chair, called the meeting to order.

Michael Gwatney, Superintendent, stated one of the purposes of the meeting was to approve the Board of Education's budget for the 2017-2018 school year.

Dr. Gwatney stated as required the Board is holding the meeting to ensure that the community has an opportunity to provide the Board with input regarding the budget.

Dr. Gwatney opened the floor for public comment on the fiscal year 2017 budget.

No one had any public comment.

After no public comment, motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to approve the FY18 budget. All members voted yes; motion carried (see attached).

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to approve the 2017 tentative millage. All members voted yes; motion carried (see attached).

Motion by Chad Galloway, seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve the capital outlay request for the West Fannin Elementary School reroof project. All members voted yes; motion carried (see attached).

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to accept the resignation of Chad Anderson effective September 8, 2017. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Steve Stanley, to accept the resignation of Margie Kolesky effective August 31, 2017. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Chad Galloway, to approve Adrian Chambers as a teacher. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to approve Tina Dillingham for the transportation department. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Chad Galloway, to approve Misty Keaton for the transportation department. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to withdraw the recommendation made on August 10, 2017, for Lindsey Denniston. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve David Carwell for a substitute bus driver pending successfully completing CDL training. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Chad Galloway, to approve Diane Dollar for a substitute bus driver pending successfully completing CDL training. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to approve Eddie Gilmore as a substitute bus driver pending successfully completing CDL training. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Chad Galloway, to approve Margie Kolesky as a substitute bus driver. All members voted yes; motion carried.

There being no further business to come before the meeting, a motion was made by Steve Stanley, seconded by Chad Galloway, to adjourn subject to being called into special session by the Chair when deemed necessary. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Bobby Bearden, Chairperson
Michael Gwatney, Superintendent

psd