1.0 OPENING OF MEETING

The Board of Directors of the Centennial Board of Cooperative Educational Services (CBOCES) met on January 18, 2024 at 2020 Clubhouse Drive, Greeley, Colorado.

1.1 Call to Order

Vice-President Katie Ford called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM

1.2 Roll Call

Board Members (or alternates) present:

Kyle Bentley, Greeley D6 School District
Christine Brown, Morgan County SD RE-3
Katie Ford, Briggsdale School
Dustin Heid, (alt) Weldon Valley SD RE 20-J –via Zoom (7:06)
Susie Kester, Prairie SD RE-11J – via ZOOM
Derrick Kyte, Wiggins SD RE-50J
Christy Loyd, Pawnee SD RE-12 – via ZOOM
Karen Ragland, St. Vrain Valley Schools
Nancy Sarchet, Weld County SD RE-1
Michelle Sharp, RE-1 Valley SD
Karen Trusler, Weld RE4 SD

Board Members absent:

Michael Wailes, Weld RE-5J

Kristine Bauer, Platte Valley SD RE-7 John Batka, Weld RE-9 SD John Davis, Estes Park SD R-3 DeAn Dillard, Eaton SD RE-2 Brandy Hansen, Brush SD RE-2J

CBOCES Staff present:

Dr. Randy Zila, Executive Director Erich Dorn, Chief Financial Officer Jocelyn Aldridge, Director of Special Education Mark Rangel, Innovative Education Services Director Maria Castillo-Saenz, Federal Programs Director Patti Greenlee, Secretary, Executive Administrative Assistant

CBOCES Staff absent:

None

1.3 Introductions/District Updates

Board Members introduced themselves and shared information for their respective districts' activities

1.4 Approval of Agenda

Christine Brown moved to approve the agenda as presented. Michael Wailes seconded the motion.

The motion passed by unanimous roll call vote: [Kristine Bauer, absent; John Batka, absent; Kyle Bentley, yes; Christine Brown, yes; John Davis, absent; DeAn Dillard, absent; Katie Ford, yes; Brandy Hansen, absent; Susie Kester, yes; Derrick Kyte, yes; Christy Loyd, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Nancy Sarchet, yes; Michelle Sharp, yes; Karen Trusler, yes; Michael Wailes, yes]

1.5 Approval of Minutes

Karen Ragland moved to approve the November 16, 2023 minutes; Chris Brown seconded.

The motion passed by unanimous roll call vote: [Kristine Bauer, absent; John Batka, absent; Kyle Bentley, yes; Christine Brown, yes; John Davis, absent; DeAn Dillard, absent; Katie Ford, yes; Brandy Hansen, absent; Susie Kester, yes; Derrick Kyte, yes; Christy Loyd, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Nancy Sarchet, yes; Michelle Sharp, yes; Karen Trusler, yes; Michael Wailes, yes]

1.6 Public Participation

None

1.7 Board Reports/Requests

None

1.8 Old Business

None

2.0 Re-Organization of Board of Directors

Colorado Revised Statutes 22-5-105 and CBOCES bylaws require the CBOCES Board to reorganize and elect officers to serve a two-year term following each general election in which local boards of education members are elected and are appointed to the CBOCES Board of Directors.

The bylaws specify that the Board of Directors shall elect the following officers: President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. The bylaws specify that the secretary and treasurer position may be served by one person.

2.1 President - Vice President, Katie Ford opened the floor to nominations for President of the Board

Michael Wailes nominated Katie Ford as President of the Board. No other nominations were made and the vote went to roll call.

Katie Ford was elected President by unanimous roll call vote: [Kristine Bauer, absent; John Batka, absent; Kyle Bentley, yes; Christine Brown, yes; John Davis, absent; DeAn Dillard, absent; Katie Ford, yes; Brandy Hansen, absent; Susie Kester, yes; Derrick Kyte, yes; Christy Loyd, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Nancy Sarchet, yes; Michelle Sharp, yes; Karen Trusler, yes; Michael Wailes, yes]

2.2 Vice-President - Vice President, Katie Ford opened the floor to nominations for Vice - President of the Board

Katie Ford nominated Michael Wailes as Vice-President of the Board. No other nominations were made and the vote went to roll call.

Michael Wailes was elected Vice-President by unanimous roll call vote: [Kristine Bauer, absent; John Batka, absent; Kyle Bentley, yes; Christine Brown, yes; John Davis, absent; DeAn Dillard, absent; Katie Ford, yes; Brandy Hansen, absent; Susie Kester, yes; Derrick Kyte, yes; Christy Loyd, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Nancy Sarchet, yes; Michael Sharp, yes; Karen Trusler, yes; Michael Wailes, yes]

2.3 Secretary/Treasurer - Vice President, Katie Ford opened the floor to nominations for Secretary/Treasurer of the Board

Karen Trusler nominated Nancy Sarchet as Secretary/Treasurer of the Board. No other nominations were made and the vote went to roll call.

Nancy Sarchet was elected Secretary/Treasurer by unanimous roll call vote: [Kristine Bauer, absent; John Batka, absent; Kyle Bentley, yes; Christine Brown, yes; John Davis, absent; DeAn Dillard, absent; Katie Ford, yes; Brandy Hansen, absent; Susie Kester, yes; Derrick Kyte,

yes; Christy Loyd, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Nancy Sarchet, yes; Michael Wailes, yes]

- Approval of Official Seating of New CBOCES Officers and Resolution Authorizing Use of Facsimile Signatures of Board President and Board Secretary/Treasurer
- Approval of Designated Public Notice Location for 2024 Board of Directors' Meetings

Karen Ragland moved to approve the motions and Derrick Kyte seconded.

The motions passed by unanimous roll call vote: [Kristine Bauer, absent; John Batka, absent; Kyle Bentley, yes; Christine Brown, yes; John Davis, absent; DeAn Dillard, absent; Katie Ford, yes; Brandy Hansen, absent; Susie Kester, yes; Derrick Kyte, yes; Christy Loyd, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Nancy Sarchet, yes; Michelle Sharp, yes; Karen Trusler, yes; Michael Wailes, yes]

3.0 CONSENT AGENDA

- **3.1** Approval of Personnel Items
- **3.2**First Reading, Board Policy/Regulation Revisions JLCDB; Administration of Medical Marijuana to Qualified Students
- **3.3** Approval of Supplement Appropriations

Karen Trusler moved to approve Consent Agenda items 3.1 and 3.3. Nancy Sarchet seconded.

The motion passed by unanimous roll call vote: [Kristine Bauer, absent; John Batka, absent; Kyle Bentley, yes; Christine Brown, yes; John Davis, absent; DeAn Dillard, absent; Katie Ford, yes; Brandy Hansen, absent; Susie Kester, yes; Derrick Kyte, yes; Christy Loyd, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Nancy Sarchet, yes; Michelle Sharp, yes; Karen Trusler, yes; Michael Wailes, yes]

4.0 Presentations

Superintendent Advisory Council Report –Dr. Jeremy Burmeister (Oral Report)

5.0 REPORTS / DISCUSSION

- **5.1** Financial Reports Erich Dorn, Chief Financial Officer
 - a. List of Supplemental Appropriations 1-19-23

- b. Supplemental Appropriations 1-19-23
- C. Board notes for Financial reports 1-19-23
- d. Investment report A for 12-31-22
- Cash Flow Analysis report B for 12-31-22 e.
- f. Cash Flow Chart C for 12-31-22
- Two Page Financial Summary Report for 12-31-22 g.
- 10 Page Detailed Expense Report for 12-31-22 h.

5.2 **Directors Reports**

- Dr. Randy Zila, Administration CBOCES received a grant from a. Weld Trust in the amount of \$93,600 to do research topics. If there are any Superintendents that would like to have research projects done for their district, let us know.
- b. Erich Dorn, Chief Financial Officer
- C. Maria Castillo Saenz, Federal Programs Department
- Mark Rangel, Innovative Education Services Department d.
- Jocelyn Aldridge, Special Education Department e.

6.0 **Action Items**

None

7.0 <u>Updates/Annoncements</u>

Longmont Campus: Tuesday, May 14, 2024 @ 6:00 PM Skyline High School, Longmont

 Greeley Campus: Wednesday, May 15, 2024 @ 6:00 PM

Weld RE-1 Valley High School, Gilcrest

iConnect: Friday, May 24, 2024 @ 5:30 PM

Wiggins High School

8.0 Adjournment

Adjournment was made at 7:57 p.m. and approved by acclamation

Respectfully Submitted,

Patti Greenlee

Centennial BOCES Executive Administrative Assistant **Board Secretary**