

Dr. Mark Scott

#### **Board Members**

Helen Hughes, Chair Dr. Rick Unruh, Vice Chair Dave Crockett Mark Ivory Lori Johnson Jon Nichols Bryan Upshaw

# **PRESS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 16, 2024

Release #2023/24 - 056

Contact: Jennifer C. Jones, Director of Community & School Affairs, (478) 988-6390, Jennifer.C.Jones@hcbe.net

## Houston County School District Students Participate in Bus Safety Poster Contest

HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – Four students from the Houston County School District were selected as county winners in the 2023-2024 School Bus Safety Poster Contest. The winners were Mason Smith from Miller Elementary, Isabella Perez Sanchez from Miller Elementary, Ella Jordan from Perry Middle, and Nora Schuber from Bonaire Middle.

"Driving Safely Into the Future" is the theme for the 2023-2024 School Bus Safety Poster Contest. One winner was chosen from each age group, and these posters will be submitted to the Georgia Association of Pupil Transportation and the Georgia Department of Education for the state competition. The winning selections are below.

## Division 1, Grades K - 2



Mason Smith, First Grade Miller Elementary School

## Division 2, Grades 3 - 5



Isabella Perez Sanchez, Fifth Grade Miller Elementary School

#### **MORE**





# Houston County School District Students Participate in Bus Safety Poster Contest / page 2 of 2

Division 3, Grades 6 – 8



Ella Jordan, Eighth Grade Perry Middle School

Division 4, Grades K - 12



Nora Schuber, Seventh Grade Bonaire Middle School

The national Bus Safety Poster Contest is sponsored each year by the National Association for Pupil Transportation, the National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services, the National School Transportation Association, IC Bus Corporation, Thomas Built Buses and Blue Bird Corporation.

###

