Benton County R-2 School District

Minutes – Executive Session

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on January 10, 2024 beginning at 7:10 PM. Board members present were Yearout, Parrott, Rutherford, Sanders, Eichler, Smallwood, and Eckhoff.

Mr. Eckhoff excused himself from the meeting at 7:10 PM

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Becky Eifert and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared applications for the Elementary Principal. Interviews were held recently with Mrs. Eifert, Mr. Adam Curtis, and a group of Elementary teachers. Of the six (6) applicants, one (1) was withdrawn, and three (3) were chosen to meet before the board members prior to the January meeting. After discussion of the applicants, a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Sanders to accept the recommendation to hire Elizabeth Eckhoff as Elementary Principal for the 2024/2025 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-absent; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Adam Curtis and Becky Eifert excused themselves from the meeting at 7:25 PM

Mr. Smith discussed salary for Mrs. Eckhoff for the upcoming school year. After discussion a motion made by Smallwood, seconded by Parrott to pay the salary of \$63k for the 2024/2025 school year for elementary principal. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-absent; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Eckhoff, Mr. Curtis, and Mrs. Eifert returned to the meeting at 7:35 PM

Mr. Smith recommended the hiring of Rebecca Curtis and Maria Robinson as Special Education Paraprofessionals for the remainder of the 2023/2024 school year. A motion was made by Rutherford, seconded by Sanders to hire Rebecca Curtis and Maria Robinson as SE Paraprofessionals for the remainder of 2023/2024 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott- yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

At 7:40 P.M., Mr. Smith excused himself from the meeting.

Board members discussed with Mr. Curtis and Mrs. Eifert the superintendent's performance.

At 7:45 P.M., Mr. Curtis and Mrs. Eifert excused themselves from the meeting so the board could conduct the annual evaluation of the Superintendent.

Minutes – Executive Session

The board discussed the superintendent's evaluation.

Board members considered extending Kevin Smith's superintendent contract for the 2026-2027 school year. It was the consensus of board members that Mr. Smith has met or exceeded all performance expectations in each performance area. A motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Eichler to extend Kevin Smith's superintendent contract for the 2026-2027 school year beginning on July 1, 2026 with the salary to be determined prior to July 1, 2026. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

At 7:50 P.M., Mr. Smith was called back into the meeting and was informed of the contract offer.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Eichler to adjourn the executive session at 7:55 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education

Secretary, Board of Education