The Fannin County Board of Education met in a called meeting with the following members present: Chad Galloway, Chair; Terry Bramlett, Vice-Chair; Bobby Bearden; Mike Cole; and Lewis DeWeese. All members were present. The meeting was held at the Fannin County High School (FCHS) Performing Arts Center (PAC) to allow for adequate social distancing due to concerns with COVID-19.

The meeting was called to order by Chad Galloway, Chair.

Darren Danner discussed construction plans and introduced Doug Breaux and Henry Pineda from Breaux and Associates, as well as Drew Watson, President of Bowen & Watson.

Motion by Mike Cole, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to go into Executive Session to discuss or deliberate upon the appointment, employment, compensation, hiring, disciplinary action or dismissal, or periodic evaluation or rating of a public officer or employee or to interview applicants for the position of superintendent; (O.C.G.A. § 50-14-3(b)(2)). All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to resume the regular meeting. All members voted yes; motion carried.

No action was taken during Executive Session.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Mike Cole, to approve the minutes of the Executive Session on July 9, 2020. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Mike Cole, to approve the resignation of Carrie Wooten effective August 3, 2020. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Chad Galloway, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve the resignation of Erica Kaylor effective August 4, 2020. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Mike Cole, to approve the resignation of Crystal Hughes effective August 4, 2020. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Mike Cole, to approve the resignation of Erik Cioffi effective August 28, 2020. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Mike Cole, to approve Lynn Burch as a teacher 49% effective the 2020-2021 school year, pending completion of paperwork and background check. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Chad Galloway, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Colbie Chastain-Rogers as a teacher effective the 2020-2021 school year, pending completion of paperwork and background check. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to approve Kathleen Cannon as a secretary effective the 2020-2021 school year, pending completion of paperwork and background check. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Mike Cole, to approve Erica Ballantine, Brittany Johnson, Connie Knight, and Mindy Pollett as School Nutrition employees effective the 2020-2021 school year, pending completion of paperwork and background check. All members voted yes; motion carried.

There being no further business to come before the meeting, a motion was made by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Mike Cole, to adjourn subject to being called into special session by the Chair when deemed necessary. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Chad Galloway, Chairperson
Michael Gwatney, Superintendent

cls