Minutes – Executive Session

After a short break the Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on April 19, 2022 beginning at 7:52 P.M. Board members present were Yearout, Parrott, Sanders, Eichler, and Smallwood. Rutherford and Koll were absent.

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Becky Eifert and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared a resignation letters from Shelly Young, Travis Goosen, Will Lynde, and Shelby Williams. A motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Eichler to accept the resignations as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended Kristan Arbuckle, Sandra Bryant, Bonnie Griffith, Kimberly Gumball, Kim Harris, Dani Hudlemeyer, Cindy Reser, Katelynn Schuld, Vicki Young, and Chante Burch for Special Services Paraprofessional. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Smallwood to employ the paraprofessionals as listed for Special Services Paraprofessional position for the 2022-2023 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford- absent; Parrott-yes: and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared the need hire a full time substitute for the school district. He recommends hiring Chris Sanders. Motion by Parrott, seconded by Smallwood, to employ Chris Sanders (Full time Substitute) for the 2022-2023 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-abstained; Rutherford- absent; Parrott-yes: and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 4 yes, 0 no. 1 abstained

Mr. Smith reviewed the Support Staff 2022-2023 Assignments and evaluations of support staff with board members. A motion made by Sanders, seconded by Parrott to approve the employment of the following Support Staff for the 2022-2023 school year--Michelle Smith, Joyce Gruhn, Michelle Paxton, Sheree Eckhoff, Diane Lines, Theresa Jones, Tyler Hoffert, Monte Young, Jason Vandaveer, Brad Crouch, Ron Griffith, David Crouch, Kenneth Mueller, Ryan Metscher, Stanley Wright, Steve Wright, Nichole Stegink, Sarah Bancroft, Niki Ragsdale, Alisa Bittner, and Chante Burch. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes: and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith reviewed the Support Staff 2022-2023 Assignments and evaluations of support staff with board members. Motion by Smallwood, seconded by Sanders, to employ Debra Eichler (High School Secretary) for the 2022-2023 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-abstained; Sanders-yes; Rutherford- absent; Parrott-yes: and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 4 yes, 0 no. 1 abstained

Minutes – Executive Session

Mrs. Eifert recommended Brendan Borman for the 5th/6th Grade Teacher 2022-2023 school year. A motion was made by Eichler, seconded by Smallwood, to hire Brendon Borman for 5th/6th Grade. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford–absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Curtis recommended Connor Spunaugle for the HS ISS position for the 2022-2023 school year. A motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Eichler, to hire Connor Spunaugle for the HS ISS positon teacher for the 2022-2023 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no

Mr. Smith shared the updated extra duty/extended days listing for 2022-2023 for approval—Kelly DeHaan (Athletic Director); _____ (Asst. Athletic Director) Tyler Burke (Varsity Boys Basketball);; Will Lynde (JH Boys Basketball); _OPEN_ (JH Assistant Boys Basketball); Brendan Borman (Varsity Girls Basketball), _____ (Assistant Girls Basketball), _____ (JH Girls Basketball); Gabbrielle Mallard (Varsity Volleyball); Michelle Paxton (Assistant Varsity Volleyball); Sarah Weatherby (JH Volleyball); Shawn Rhoades (Assistant Varsity Football), Connor Spunaugle (Assistant Varsity Football); Braden Drehle (Assistant Varsity Football); Brad Drehle (Head Varsity Football); Nolan Wilson (Assistant JH Football); Gabbrielle Mallard (Girls Summer Weights); Brad Drehle (Boys Summer Weights); Brad Drehle (Winter/Spring Weights); Alex Curtis (JH Basketball Cheer Coach); Alex Curtis (HS Football Cheer Coach); Alex Curtis (JH Football Cheer Coach); Ashley Brown (HS Basketball Cheer Coach): Anne Goosen (Elementary Gifted); Tammy Hayes (5-8 Gifted) Tammy Hayes (HS Gifted); Amy Biggerstaff (HS Speech); Amy Biggerstaff (Yearbook); Erin Helland (Vocal/Instrumental Music); Elyse Starke (Academic Bowl); Kelly DeHaan (FBLA); Becky Mueller (FCCLA); Brandi Maddux (FFA); Alex Curtis (Student Council); ____ (Prom Sponsor); Ashley Brown, Becky Mueller, Connor Spunaugle, and Elyse Starke (Junior Class Sponsors); _ (Archery); Dana Lynde (Breakfast Supervisor); Jennifer Greene (A+ Coordinator); Jennifer Greene (Academic Supervisor); (Curriculum Director); Melinda Strathman (Medicaid-MO HealthNet Coordinator); Jennifer Greene (HS Counselor 20 Extended Days); Sarah Beaman (Elementary Counselor 10 days); Dana Lynde (Librarian 5 Extended Days); and Brandi Maddux (Ag Teacher 50 Extended Days). Motion by Parrott, seconded by Eichler to approve the updated extra duty/extended days as listed and to allow administrators to offer other extra duties as appropriate prior to the next regular meeting. All Extra Duty stipends will be paid throughout the school year over 12 pays. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sandersyes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no

A motion made by Smallwood, seconded by Parrott to hire extra duties and coaches as follows Chris Sanders (Assistant Varsity/JV Boys Basketball); Chris Sanders (JH Football-Head Coach); Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-abstained; Rutherford–absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 4 ayes 0 no, 1-abstained Minutes – Executive Session

The list of students for graduation 2022 was presented. A motion was made by Eichler, seconded by Parrott to approve the list of students for graduation pending completion of credits and graduation requirements. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes and 0 nays.

Curtis and Eifert left the meeting at 8:34 PM Mr. Smith was asked to step out for Board Members to discuss salary increase at 8:34 PM

Discussion was had regarding the salary increase for Mr. Smith, a motion made by Parrott, seconded by Eichler to increase Mr. Smith's superintendent salary by 5% for the 2022-2023 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no

Mr. Smith returned at 8:46 PM, Yearout gave salary increase information.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Eichler, seconded by Smallwood to adjourn the executive session at 8:49 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Smallwood-yes; Koll-absent; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes and 0 nays.

President, Board of Education

Secretary, Board of Education