Bamberg County School District Board of Trustees Special Called Meeting Bamberg County School District Office 62 Holly Avenue, Denmark, SC 29042 November 15, 2024 6:00 p.m.

<u>Members present:</u> Board Chair Janeth Walker, Secretary Naomi Eckels, Trustee Gwendolyn D. Bamberg, Trustee Jeni Bunch, Trustee Harriet H. Coker, Trustee David Corder, Trustee Tonya A. Sanders-Govan, Trustee Cathy Ayer Griffin, and Trustee Cynthia "Cindy" F. Hurst.

Absent: None.

1. Welcome and Purpose – Dr. Dottie Brown

Superintendent Brown opened the meeting and stated the purpose of the meeting was to organize the Board of Trustees for Bamberg County School District by swearing in the new board members. Dr. Brown congratulated each board member for being elected and/or appointed to the board.

2. Swearing-In Ceremony for Newly Elected Board Members

Mr. Charles Boykin of Boykin & Davis, LLC, administered the Oath of Office to Mrs. Cynthia "Cindy" F. Hurst, Mrs. Cathy Ayer Griffin, Mrs. Tonya A. Sanders-Govan, Mr. David Corder, and Mrs. Jeni Bunch.

3. **Call meeting to order:** Board Chair Janeth Walker called the meeting to order.

4. Pledge of Allegiance/Moment of Silence

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and a moment of silence was observed.

5. Board Member Information – Charles Boykin, Esq. (Boykin & Davis, LLC)

School board attorney, Mr. Charles Boykin, discussed the South Carolina Ethics Act and each board member's duty to file a Statement of Economic Interest.

Mr. Boykin advised training is required of all new board members and briefly touched on conflicts of interest, the timeline for public notice of board meetings, and agenda items being the only items that can be discussed at board meetings.

Mr. Boykin informed that the first official training as a board member, provided by the South Carolina School Board Association, would be in February of 2025.

Mr. Boykin concluded by touching on board member liability.

6. **Board Member Comments**

Trustee Harriet Coker expressed her appreciation to the original board members for their cooperation and working well together to serve the best interest of the children during the consolidation process.

Secretary Naomi Eckels seconded Trustee Harriet Coker's sentiments and further went on to convey her appreciation for being able to continue serving on the school board.

Board of Trustees Swearing-In and Meeting Minutes Page 2 of 2 November 15, 2024

Trustee Cynthia Hurst continued by welcoming the new members and stating how being a part of the school board was a great opportunity and challenge, but reminding everyone it could be done. Mrs. Hurst concluded by thanking everyone and expressing her gratitude for the votes.

Trustee Jeni Bunch communicated that she was thankful for the wonderful opportunity to serve on the board and was looking forward to working with everyone.

Board Chair Janeth Walker ended by welcoming all new members. Mrs. Walker advised there were exciting and challenging things ahead and enlightened the board with the following words of wisdom, "board members may or may not always agree on everything, but at the end of the day when you walk out of a meeting, can you live with the decision you made?". Mrs. Walker conveyed her appreciation to everyone for the support given to all board members. Mrs. Walker closed by communicating her support and availability to all of the board members should they have any questions, concerns, or just needed to reach out to her at any time. Mrs. Walker again thanked the families, community, and all for their continued support and concluded by stating that Bamberg is a "great place to be".

Mr. Charles Boykin reminded the public that the appointed board members are to be sworn in at the next scheduled meeting, are legally considered to be in "hold over status", and continue to have the power and authority of a board member until such time as their successors are identified and qualified.

7. Adjourn

Board Chair Janeth Walker adjourned the meeting.

Minutes approved:	
Janeth Walker, Board Chair	_
Naomi Eckels, Secretary	

The meeting was adjourned at 6:28 p.m.