

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

February 20, 2024 Robertson Theatre

The regular meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Brandon Kern, Julie Bushinger, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Supt. Westrum had one addition to the agenda under Part B, No. 1: AIPAC

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to approve the agenda as amended. Motion approved unanimously.

The Board recognized Mike Brunsberg and Lindy Thompson as Educators of Excellence; and Mary Wynn and Lisa Schmidt as Pillars of Excellence. These individuals will be recognized during a banquet hosted by Sourcewell in May.

The following individuals addressed the Board during the Public Form Period:

Nicole Endres

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the January 16, 2024 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt to approve the following retirements, under the early retirement incentive: Loni Niles, Media Specialist; Kathy Thoreson, Elementary Teacher; Lisa Dreyer, Elementary Teacher; Patty Berg, Elementary Teacher; Jeff Mehl, Elementary Teacher; Lynn Quincer, Elementary Teacher; Sheila Winkels, FACS Teacher. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the lane change for Brooklyn Huttunen. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the following Disbursements:

 Vendor Check #'s
 45197 - 45472
 \$409,185.67

 Credit Card (BMO Harris Bank):
 \$6,052.44

 Student Activity Check #'s
 23199 - 23229
 \$86,505.66

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the following donations to the district:



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

February 20, 2024 Robertson Theatre

Donor	Purpose	Amount
Wadena Elks Game Fund	Summer Rec	\$800.00
Sourcewell	Student Teacher and Cooperative Teacher Stipend	\$1,000.00
Jeanne & Dennis Olson	Speech and Language Program	\$468.75
Jeanne & Dennis Olson	REACH Program w/Jil Fiemeyer	\$468.75
Jeanne & Dennis Olson	New required Personal Finance Class	\$468.75

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Kern, to approve the addition of the AIPAC (American Indian Parent Advisory Committee).

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the annual budget reduction resolution. Motion approved unanimously.

The Board discussed possible budget reductions for 2024-2025. No action was taken on this agenda item.

The Board opened the floor to public comment regarding the possible budget reductions. The following individuals addressed the Board:

Sue Volkmann Heidi Wolff Cindy Lemke

Mr. Rutten provided an update on the READ Act Staff Development for 2024-2025. No action was taken on this agenda item.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the Collective Bargaining Agreement with Educational Assistants. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the Collective Bargaining Agreement with Admin. Asst's/Bookkeepers/Custodians. Motion approved unanimously.

Supt. Westrum recognized the School Board members in honor of School Board Recognition Month.



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

February 20, 2024 Robertson Theatre

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to adjourn the meeting at 6:46 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, March 18, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. in the Robertson Theatre.

Respectfully submitted by:	
Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk	Date:
Dan Lawson, Board Chair	Date: