The Fannin County Board of Education met in regular session with the following members present: Bobby Bearden, Chair; Terry Bramlett, Vice-Chair; Lewis DeWeese; Sandra Mercier; and Steve Stanley.

The meeting was called to order by Bobby Bearden, Chair.

By motion from Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve the following items on the consent agenda. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Approve the meeting minutes from July 12, 2016, 8:00 a.m.; June 20, 2016, 8:00 a.m.; and June 9, 2016, 6:00 p.m.

Public Comment:

None.

After public comment, motion by Sandra Mercier, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve the financial report for May 31, 2016. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Mr. Henson stated the SPLOST check received in June for the month of May was \$360,150.68.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve the Spending Resolution for the month of August 2016 (see attached). All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to approve the Five-Year Perkins IV Local Plan and One-Year Funding for FY17 (see attached). All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve the resolution for five-year local facilities plan. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve the addendum to Americorps Service Site Agreement. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Karen Walton, Assistant Superintendent School Improvement & Curriculum, stated that the paperwork is complete and ready to submit to support the Board's application to be considered an Exemplary Board.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to accept the resignation of Rebekah Goss effective the end of SY 2015-2016. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to accept the resignation of Chrisi Taylor effective the end of SY 2015-2016. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Sandra Mercier, to approve Tori Arp as a teacher. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded Sandra Mercier, to approve Ben Sexton as a teacher. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to approve Tina Merold as a paraprofessional. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Sandra Mercier, to approve Gini Bell Bramlett as an administrator. Bobby Bearden, Lewis DeWeese, Sandra Mercier, and Steve Stanley voted yes; Terry Bramlett abstained; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Sandra Mercier, to approve Jeff Johnstone for the transportation department. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Sandra Mercier, to approve Carolyn Thomas for the transportation department. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Kenneth Scott Satterfield for the maintenance department. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Sandra Mercier, to approve Lora Lewis to work five days during the 2016-2017 school year. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve Eric Foster for the Fannin County Cannery pending finger printing and background check. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Melissa Patterson as a substitute teacher. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Susan Rhodes as a substitute teacher. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Sandra Mercier, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Sandra Baliles as a nutrition substitute. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Sandra Mercier, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Sharon Watkins as a nutrition substitute. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Superintendent's Comments:

Mark Henson, Superintendent, presented Shannon Miller, Principal of Blue Ridge Elementary School, with a banner for her recognition in June at the Title I Conference for being in the top 10% of Title I schools in the state for making the most progress in improving student performance. Mr. Henson introduced Lucas Roof as the new principal at West Fannin Elementary School.

Board Members' Comments:

Bobby Bearden stated he was confident Lucas Roof would great job as principal at West Fannin Elementary School. Mr. Bearden said Mr. Cioffi does a fine job as principal of Fannin County High School and states Fannin County has the best schools in the state of Georgia.

Terry Bramlett congratulated Shannon Miller for her schools accomplishment for Title I, and he congratulated Lucas Roof in his new position as principal at West Fannin Elementary School. Mr. Bramlett stated it was an honor to be a part of the team.

Lewis DeWeese stated everyone is doing a great job, and it radiates through all of our schools.

Sandra Mercier congratulated Shannon Miller for her Title I accomplishment, and she welcomed and congratulated Lucas Roof for his new position as principal of West Fannin Elementary School. Mrs. Mercier commended the School Resource Officers for their dedication and work they perform.

Steve Stanley stated he was glad to be back and thanked everyone for coming out.

There being no further business to come before the meeting, a motion was made by Sandra Mercier, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to adjourn subject to being called into special session by the Chair when deemed necessary. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Bobby Bearden, Chairperson
Mark Henson, Superintendent

psd