The Fannin County Board of Education met in a called meeting with the following members present: Bobby Bearden, Chair; Lewis DeWeese, Vice-Chair; Terry Bramlett, Chad Galloway, and Steve Stanley. All members present.

Bobby Bearden, Chair, called the meeting to order.

Erik Cioffi, Principal of Fannin County High School, announced that Fannin High School received the Young Farmers Grant in the amount of \$75,000.00 to go towards the salary of the Young Farmer position at the agriculture facility. The grant can be renewed each year by completing an application.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to rescind called Board minutes for January 23, 2017, 4:30 p.m. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve the called Board minutes for January 23, 2017, 4:30 p.m. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Karen Walton, Assistant Superintendent; School Improvement & Curriculum (P-5), reviewed the Fannin County School System Strategic Plan. This plan and school system goals will be discussed during the Local Board Training session that will be held on March 9, 2017, at 4:30 p.m. with Justin Old from Pioneer RESA.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to go into executive session to discuss or deliberate upon the appointment, employment, compensation, hiring, disciplinary action or dismissal, or periodic evaluation or rating of a public officer or employee or to interview applicants for the position of superintendent; (O.C.G.A. § 50-14-3(b)(2)) and to discuss or vote to authorize negotiations to purchase, dispose of, or lease property; authorize ordering an appraisal related to the acquisition or disposal of real estate; enter into a contract to purchase, dispose of, or lease property subject to approval in a subsequent public vote; or enter into an option to purchase, dispose of or lease real estate subject to approval in a subsequent public vote; (O.C.G.A. § 50-14-3(b)(1)). All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to go back into regular session. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Bobby Bearden announced that no action was taken during executive session.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Chad Galloway, to approve the executive session minutes from December 8, 2016; January 10, 2017; January 16, 2017; and January 20, 2017.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Chad Galloway, to accept the resignation of Janet Cherie Kephart with the revised date effective May 31, 2017. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Sarah Finch as Director of Federal Programs, School Improvement, and Assessment effective July 1, 2017. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to approve Shannon Miller as Director of Student Services effective July 1, 2017. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to reinstate Buck Rodgers as a custodian. All members voted yes; motion carried.

There being no further business to come before the meeting, a motion was made by Chad Galloway, seconded by Terry Bramlett, to adjourn subject to being called into special session by the Chair when deemed necessary. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Bobby Bearden, Chairperson

Mark Henson, Superintendent

psd