Tawas Area Schools Special Board of Education Meeting August 29, 2024

The special meeting of the Tawas Area Board of Education was called to order by President Bruning at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, August 29, 2024 in the boardroom at the administration office.

Mrs. Bruning led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll Call:

Present: Jenkins, Edmonds, Lentz, Butzin, Ulman, Bruning

Absent: None Tardy: None

Administrators Present: Klinger, Danek

PUBLIC COMMENTS - INFORMATION AND PROPOSALS

Mrs. Bruning stated that those wishing to speak during public comment would have 3 minutes to share. There were several applicants for the board vacancy in attendance who wanted to share. Jennifer Riggs gave a brief introduction and shared with the board her desire to fill the vacant seat. Debra Morefield was the next to speak, reading a letter of recommendation she had received from teacher Isabelle Sapikowski. She said she received this letter too late to include it with her application packet but wanted to share it with the board so they could take it into consideration prior to voting on the vacancy. Scott Morefield, husband of Debra, was the next to speak. He spoke about his wife and the experiences she has had that would make her a good member of the board. Lastly, Susan Kaderle also introduced herself to the board and briefly shared some background information. Mrs. Bruning asked if there was anyone else who would like to share and there was not.

NEW BUSINESS

Mrs. Bruning stated that due to the resignation of a board member, the Board must appoint someone to fill the vacant seat. The vacancy was advertised for 14 days and fifteen candidates applied to fill the remainder of the term. The Board received copies of the applicant's letters of interest and resumes prior to the meeting. The Board decided to vote to narrow the field down to 3 and then vote on the top 3 again to make the final decision as to who they would be appointing. The Board then casted votes for their top choices. Candidate 1: Yes vote by Lentz; No votes by Jenkins, Edmonds, Butzin, Ulman and Bruning. Candidate 2: Yes votes by Jenkins, Edmonds, Butzin and Bruning; No votes by Ulman and Lentz. Candidate 3: Yes votes by Butzin and Ulman; No votes by Jenkins, Edmonds, Lentz and Bruning. Candidate 4: All no votes. Candidate 5: All no votes. Candidate 6: All no votes. Candidate 7: All no votes. Candidate 8: All no votes. Candidate 9: Yes vote by Ulman; No votes by Jenkins, Butzin, Edmonds, Lentz and Bruning. Candidate 10: All no votes. Candidate 11: Yes vote by Lentz; no votes by Ulman, Butzin, Jenkins, Edmonds and Bruning. Candidate 12: All no votes. Candidate 13: Yes votes by Jenkins and Bruning; No votes by Butzin, Edmonds, Lentz and Ulman. Candidate 14: All no votes. Candidate 15: All no votes. Candidate 2, 3 and 13 had the most votes in that round so another vote was taken among those three candidates. Yes votes for Candidate 2 were cast by Butzin, Jenkins, Edmonds and Bruning. No votes for Candidate 2 were cast by Lentz and Ulman. With four yes votes, Candidate 2 was declared the winner. Mrs. Bruning said that person is Allan Miller, and declared him the individual to be appointed to the seat. Mrs. Danek administered the oath of office to Mr. Miller and he accepted the appointment.

