Minutes – Executive Session

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on August 21, 2023 beginning at 7:38 P.M. Board members present were Parrott, Rutherford, Sanders, Smallwood and Eckhoff. Yearout and Eichler were absent.

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Becky Eifert, and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared a resignation letter from Ryan Metscher, Bus Driver. Motion made by Sanders, seconded by Smallwood to accept the resignation as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-absent. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended to the board that Dylan Gutierrez be hired for full time Bus Trip Driver for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Eckhoff to employ Dylan Gutierrez as full time Bus Trip Driver. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-absent. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended to the board that Maddie Mensior as Elementary Study Skills Coordinator for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Rutherford to employ Maddie Mensior as Elementary Study Skills Coordinator. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-absent. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no

Mr. Smith recommended to the board that Mackenzie Weaver as LPN/Para for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Smallwood to employ Mackenzie Weaver as LPN/Para. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-absent. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended to the board that Toni Parker, Alicia Worthley, Payton Gresham, and Carsyn Mertgen be hired for Special Education Paraprofessionals for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Rutherford to employ Toni Parker, Alicia Worthley, Payton Gresham, and Carsyn Mertgen for Special Education Paraprofessionals. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-absent. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

## Benton County R-2 School District

Minutes – Executive Session

Mr. Smith recommended to the board that Elizabeth Eckhoff be hired for JH Head Softball Coach for the 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Sanders to employ Elizabeth Eckhoff for JH Head Softball Coach. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-abstained; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-absent. Motion carried 4 yes, 0 no, 1 abstained.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Rutherford, seconded by Eckhoff to adjourn the executive session at 7:58 P.M. Roll call of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-absent. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education