

Board Members

Fred Wilson, Chairman Helen Hughes, Vice Chairman Dave Crockett Lori Johnson Hoke Morrow Dr. Rick Unruh Bryan Upshaw



PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: July 26, 2023

Release #2022-2023 - 007

Contact: Jennifer C. Jones, Director of Community & School Affairs, (478) 988-6390, Jennifer C. Jones@hcbe.net

Houston County School District Names Teacher of the Year



HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – Mrs. Jessica Hawk of Bonaire Primary School has been named the 2023-2024 Houston County Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made at the District's Opening Session held on July 26. She received nearly \$18,000 in cash and prizes donated by organizations throughout Houston County.

Mrs. Hawk has been teaching for 21 years. She serves as an Early Intervention Teacher and has been in this position for four years. Mrs. Hawk has also graduated from the Houston County School District's Teacher Leadership Academy.

Mrs. Hawk said, "Be strong and take action! I am someone who steps into each day and chooses to be the best. I am confident in the positive difference I make as an educator, and I know the lasting impact that I have on the lives of others."

Four finalists were also announced as follows:

- Carley Cain, Matt Arthur Elementary
- Emilee Coody, Bonaire Elementary
- Lindsey Jenkins, Morningside Elementary
- Dr. Regina Littlejohn, Westside Elementary

Teachers of the Year from each school as well as six Employees of the Year were recognized at Opening Session. Click here for a full list of honorees.

During Opening Session, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Mark Scott thanked all teachers and administrators for their dedication and commitment to serving our students. The program featured Deborah Roberts, Senior News Correspondent for ABC News, author and Perry High School Alumna.

MORE







Houston County School District Names Teacher of the Year / Page 2 of 2

Premier Sponsors included Flint Energies, H.E.A. Federal Credit Union, Houston Healthcare, Parrish Construction, The Roderick Group, Southside Baptist Church, Totem Business Solutions and Yancy Bus Sales & Service. The Signature Sponsor is Cox Communication. Gold Sponsors included Bank of Dudley, Centegix, Central Georgia Technical College, Georgia Military College, International City Optimist Club, RLR Architects, Robins Financial Credit Union and Synovus Bank.

Cash awards were presented to the Top 5 Teachers of the Year from H.E.A. Federal Credit Union, Robins Financial Credit Union, Robins Regional Chamber of Commerce, and Sonny's BBQ. More than 60 local businesses and community organizations donated gifts for the Teachers and Employees of the Year. A full list of contributors can be found on our website at www.hcbe.net/openingsession.

A full video of Opening Session can be found on the Houston County School District's Facebook page.

###



