

## **Board Members**

Fred Wilson, Chairman Helen Hughes, Vice Chairman Dave Crockett Lori Johnson Hoke Morrow Dr. Rick Unruh Bryan Upshaw

## **PRESS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 14, 2022

Release #2022-2023 - 030

Contact: Jennifer C. Jones, Director of Community & School Affairs, (478) 988-6390, Jennifer.C.Jones@hcbe.net

## **Houston County Sharks Supporters Presented ASPIRE Awards**



Anna Henry Coach of the Year



Elianna Stevens
Outstanding Female
Athlete of the Year



Christa Hartman Gail Hendricks Volunteerism Award



Leon Porter Official of the Year



Marvin James Media Award

HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – Several Houston County Sharks supporters recently received awards from the American Association of Adapted Sports Programs (AAASP). The Adapted Sports Programs in Recreation and Education (ASPIRE) Awards recognize individuals who serve as role models and advocates for adapted sports. Adapted sports programs allow students with physical disabilities to reap the physical, social, emotional, and academic benefits of competitive athletics resulting in personal and social empowerment.

The 2022 ASPIRE Awards were held on October 23. Forty-seven nominees across the United States were recognized. The Sharks' nominees were represented in six categories and named the winner in five.

Anna Henry, Houston County Sharks Coach and physical education teacher at Langston Road Elementary School, was named the Coach of the Year.

**MORE** 

## Houston County Sharks Supporters Presented ASPIRE Awards / page 2 of 2

Elianna Stevens, an 11<sup>th</sup> grade student at Houston County High School, received the Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year Award. This award is presented to a female athlete that demonstrated exceptional efforts and leadership qualities in the AAASP's sports league.

Christa Hartman, Houston County Sharks Volunteer, received the Gail Hendricks Volunteerism Award. This award is presented to an individual or organization that has demonstrated exceptional efforts in support of an adapted sports league.

13WMAZ Sports Reporter Marvin James received the Media Award, which is presented to an individual or news organization that provides conscientious coverage and visibility to AAASP's sports leagues.

In addition, the AASP posthumously honored Leon Porter, who was named as the Official of the Year. Mr. Porter served as official for all AAASP teams, including the Houston County Sharks. His son, Gromykgo Rumph, received the award on his behalf.

Other Houston County Sharks nominees who were recognized include:

- Dylan Thompson Male Athlete of the Year
- Langley Yoh High School Senior Athlete Award
- Melissa Ring-Hartman Coach of the Year
- Jerry Walls, Southside Baptist Church Volunteer of the Year
- Stephen Lewis Official of the Year

The AAASP represents a standardized approach to interscholastic sports programming for students with physical disabilities. Learn more at <a href="www.adaptedsports.org">www.adaptedsports.org</a>. For more information about the Sharks or Houston County's winners, please contact Christy Jones at <a href="mailto:Christy.Jones@hcbe.net">Christy.Jones@hcbe.net</a>.

###



