MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES Groveton Independent School District July 23, 2018

Meeting called to order by the president, Mark Folds.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mark Folds- President Benny Abshier-Secretary Jason Due Steve Ecord Joey Rowe

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Randy Hughes Teressa Ray

OTHERS PRESENT:

Don Hamilton	Bryan Finch
Todd Moore	Amanda Stubblefield

1.	Prayer by Don Hamilton	Prayer
2.	Motion by Jason Due, seconded by Benny Abshier , to approve minutes from previous meeting. Motion carried unanimously.	Minutes
3.	Motion by Steve Ecord, seconded by Joey Rowe, to approve bills, payroll and budget expenditures. Motion carried unanimously.	Approve Bills Payroll & Exp.
4.	First hearing on TASB Policy Update 111. No action taken.	
5.	Motion by Jason Due, seconded by Steve Ecord, to remove Benny McClain and to add Benny Abshier to sign checks on the general account. Motion carried unanimously.	Signature Card
6.	Discuss the proposed budget and tax rate for the 2018-2019 school year. No action taken.	Budget & Tax Rate
7.	Motion by Jason Due, seconded by Benny Abshier, to set the date of August 27, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. to approve the proposed budget and to set the tax rate for the 2018-2019 school year. Motion carried unanimously.	Set Date
8.	Motion by Benny Abshier, seconded by Steve Ecord, to approve the Investment Policy. Motion carried unanimously.	Approve Inv.

9.	Motion by Benny Abshier, seconded by Jason Due, to approve the 2018-2019 student handbook. Motion carried unanimously.	Approve Student Handbook
10.	Motion by Steve Ecord, seconded by Joey Rowe, to approve the 2018-2019 employee handbook. Motion carried unanimously.	Approve Empl. Handbook
11.	The board went into closed session under the Texas Open Meeting Act, Texas Gov. Code Section 551.074 to discuss professional teaching personnel at 7:45 p.m. The board reconvened at 9:16 p.m. and took the following action.	Closed Session
12.	Motion by Steve Ecord, seconded by Joey Rowe, to release Kelly Dial from her 2018-2019 contract. Motion carried unanimously.	Release of Contr.
13.	Motion by Benny Abshier, seconded by Jason Due, to hire Kathy Durham, Marla Larsen, Eric Defriend and Austin Kimble. Motion carried unanimously.	New Hires
14.	Motion by Joey Rowe, seconded by Benny Abshier, to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.	Adjourn

President

Secretary