Proceedings July 10, 2023

The school board of Clark School District #12-2 convened in regular session in the library on Monday, July 10, 2023 at 6:00pm. The following members were in attendance, Malory McIntire, Greg Marx, Lacey Ortberg, Todd Fjelland and Nathan Luvaas. Also in attendance: Superintendent- Travis Ahrens, Business Manager- Mary Nelson, Elementary Principal –Jon Redmond, MS/HS Principal – Jennifer Heggelund.

Budget hearing started at 6:00pm and ended at 6:31pm. No interested patrons were present.

2023-162

President Fjelland called the meeting to order at 6:32pm with all members saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

2023-163

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Luvaas to approve the agenda. All in favor.

No open forum No conflicts of interest or waivers.

2023-164

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to approve minutes from June 12, 2023 regular board meeting, financial reports as of June 30, 2023. All in favor.

Review of final athletic coop expenses discussed with the board.

School board canvased the School Board election results.

THREE YEAR TERM	Clark	Garden City	Bradley	Raymond	
Malory McIntire	114	14	23	17	168
Lacey Ortberg	111	18	19	27	175
James Waldner	83	8	3	16	110
Travis Peterson	65	13	20	10	108
Total Votes	373	53	65	70	561
Total Ballots Cast	220	28	38	41	327

2023-165

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Marx to adopt the supplemental budget for the 2022-2023 FY budget. All in favor.

2023-166

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to approve rental agreement with P4 Manufacturing/Paul Streff for CTE course use. All in favor.

2023-167

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to surplus the following items: Newton message pad, Xerox Phaser 6600 printer, 3 Keyboards, Portable server cart, 2004 Dodge Stratus, snowball USB microphone, 2 Ricoh Aficio printers, 9 Rukus access points, 20 maroon Wenger posture chairs, Promethean board(no value) 2 HP tablets, 21 computer monitors, device charge cart. All in favor

2023-168

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Marx to approve the resignation of Sam Larsen as an elementary paraprofessional. All in favor.

2023-169

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to approve the work agreement for Alisha Salinas as elementary paraprofessional (\$15.00/hr) All in favor

2023-170 Moved by Marx and seconded by McIntire to approve the resignation of Nichole Deslauriers as HS Oral Interp coach. All in favor.

2023-171

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to go into executive session for personnel (SDCL1-25-2.1) at 6:45pm. All in favor.

Open session resumed at 6:48

2023-172

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to replace vacant school board seat with Todd Fjelland for 2023-2024 fiscal year. All in favor.

2023-173

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to adjourn the regular meeting of July 10, 2023 at 6:49pm. All in favor.

Travis Ahrens called the meeting to order at 6:50pm..

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to approve agenda.. All in favor.

Certificate of Election was presented to Malory McIntire and Lacey Ortberg(3yr terms) and Todd Fjelland(1yr term) along with administer oath.

2024-001

Mr Ahrens called for nomination of president.

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to cast a unanimous ballot for Todd Fjelland as President. All in favor

2024-002

President Fjelland called for nomination for Vice-President

Moved by Marx and seconded by McIntire to cast a unanimous ballot for Nathan Luvaas as Vice President. All in favor.

2024-003

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Ortberg to set regular board meetings for 2nd Monday of each month at 6:30pm at the high school library;

Dacotah Bank as the official depository;

the Clark Courier as the legal newspaper;

authorize continuation of the School Food Service agreement with the state of South Dakota;

designate Rodney Freeman as legal counsel;

Designate Superintendent Travis Ahrens as the Title II and School Improvement Coordinator, designate Travis Ahrens as the administrator for all Federal programs as well as the truant officer and transportation supervisor.

Appoint Todd Fjelland as the board member designated as the voting member of the ASBSD.

Malory McIntire will be the representative for the NESC with Greg Marx and Lacey Ortberg as alternates.

The line of authority as spelled out in policy is Travis Ahrens, Jennifer Heggelund, Jon Redmond and Mary Nelson,

Authorize participation with the SD United School Association

Authorize participation in the Emergency Bus Pact. All in favor.

2024-004

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Luvaas to set board member salaries at \$75 per meeting plus state mileage designate Mary Nelson and Todd Fjlelland as the custodian of financial accounts along with having the authority to use the facsimile signature,

set surety bond at \$50,000,

designate Mary Nelson as the authorized signature for the Custodial Account,

set the Imprest Fund at \$3,500,

sub teacher pay for certified and certified with lapsed certification at \$135 per day and after 10 consecutive days, \$160 per day, noncertified at \$115 per day, paraprofessional sub at \$13.50 per hour & classified sub for janitorial/food service at \$13.50 per hour.

Meal and mileage reimbursements to adults will follow state rate, currently as follows: \$0.51 per mile, \$6-breakfast, \$14-lunch, \$20-dinner. Student reimbursement for state events only will be \$10 per meal.

School lunch costs rate at \$2.45 for preschool through grade 5, \$2.70 for grades 6 through 12, and \$4.87 for adults. Breakfast costs are set at \$1.30 for preschool through 5, \$2.00 for 6-12

0.60 for after school snacks,

\$1.60 for extra entrée, \$0.50 for extra milk.

Admission prices set at \$5 for adults and \$3 for students, doubleheaders at \$6 for adults and \$4 for students. Activity passes at \$15 for students and \$40-adults, \$25 for age 60 and over. Annual prices will be \$45 For the 23-24 school year. All in favor.

2024-005

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to set the following committee assignments: All in favor. NEGOTIATIONS: Fjelland & McIntire POLICY: Marx & Ortberg BUILDING AND GROUNDS: Luvaas & Fjelland TECHNOLOGY: Marx & McIntire ATHLETIC COOP: Fjelland & Luvaas TRANSPORTATION: Ortberg & Luvaas FINANCE: McIntire & Ortberg

2024-006

Moved by Ortberg and seconded by Marx to approve July claim list presented for payment. All in favor.

2024-007

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas vote for Jeff Sheehan Division III(principal) representative for the SDHSAA Board of Directors. All in favor.

2024-008

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Ortberg to vote for Ryan Rollinger for Division I(principal) representative for the SDHSAA Board of Directors. All in favor.

No bids were received for the fieldhouse flooring.

Mr Ahrens informed everyone of ASBSD joint convention in Sioux Falls on August 3rd and 4th 2023.

2024-009

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to approve the work agreement for Dan Duenwald as JH VB coach for the 2023-2024 school year. (Stipend \$2,376) All in favor.

2024-010

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Ortberg to transfer James Marx to Assistant wrestling coach for the 2023-2024 school year (Stipend \$3,536) All in favor.

2024-011

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to adjourn the July 10, 2024 regular meeting at 7:33pm.

ATTEST Board Chairperson, Todd Fjelland Mary Nelson Business Manager