February 19, 2025

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on February 19, 2025 beginning at 8:09 P.M. Board members present were Yearout, Parrott, Eichler, Smallwood and Eckhoff. Rutherford and Sanders were absent.

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Elizabeth Eckhoff, Jennifer Smith and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared retirement letters and a letter of resignation from Tammy Hayes, Elementary 5/6 Teacher, and Debbie Brockman, Elementary 5/6 Teacher, and Elyssa Yates, Paraprofessional for the end of the 2024/2025 school year. A motion made by Parrott, seconded by Smallwood to accept resignation as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-absent; Rutherford-absent; Parrott- yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith requested permission to hire the best candidate for Elementary teacher openings for the 2025-2026 school year. A motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Parrott to allow Mr. Smith to hire the best candidates for Elementary Teacher openings. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-absent; Rutherford-absent; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

At 8:19 PM, Mr. Curtis, Mrs. Eckhoff and Mrs. Smith were excused from the meeting.

Mr. Smith reported on his evaluation of High School Principal, Adam Curtis. After discussion, a motion was made by Eckhoff, seconded by Smallwood to extend Adam Curtis's high school principal contract for the 2025-2026 school year and set the salary for the 2025-2026 school year prior to July 1, 2025 Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-absent; Rutherford-absent; Parrott- yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith reported on his evaluation of Elementary School Principal, Elizabeth Eckhoff. After discussion, a motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Parrott to extend Elizabeth Eckhoff's elementary school principal contract for the 2025-2026 school year and set the salary for the 2025-2026 school year prior to July 1, 2025 Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-abstained; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-absent; Rutherford-absent; Parrott- yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 4 yes, 0 no, 1 abstained.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Eckhoff to adjourn the executive session at 8:37 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes: Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-absent; Rutherford-absent; Parrott- yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no.