### NEW BRIGHTON AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

Mrs. Christeen Ceratti Mr. Jay Funkhouser Mr. John Ludwig Mrs. Jewel Collwell Mrs. Elizabeth Hough Mrs. Bernadette Mattica Mrs. Katherine Crisci Mr. Matthew LeDonne Mr. Steven Powell

Dr. Joseph A. Guarino, Superintendent Mrs. Lorie Foster, Board Secretary

### REGULAR MEETING August 26, 2024

I move to approve the N	Ainutes of the June 10, 2024 Regu	ular meeting.	
Motion	Second	Vote	
I move to approve the Treasurer Reports for May, June, and July 2024.			
Motion	Second	Vote	
I move to approve the Cafeteria Reports for April, May, June, and July 2024.			
Motion	Second	Vote	
I move to approve the General Fund Bills from June 7, 2024 through June 30, 2024.			
Motion	Second	Vote	
I move to approve the General Fund Bills from July 1, 2024 through August 22, 2024.			
Motion	Second	Vote	

## EXECUTIVE – Mrs. Collwell

I move to approve Executive items 1, 2, and 3.

- 1. Approval of the Final reading of revisions to the following Policies:
  - 222 Tobacco and Vaping Products
  - 227 Controlled Substances/Paraphernalia
  - 323 Tobacco and Vaping Products
  - 351 Controlled Substance Abuse
  - 707 Use of School Facilities
  - 815.1 Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence in Education

- 2. Approval of the second reading of revisions to the following Policies:
  - 103 Discrimination/Harassment Affecting Students
  - 103.1 Nondiscrimination Qualified Students with Disabilities
  - 104 Discrimination/Harassment Affecting Staff
  - 146.1 Trauma-Informed Approach
  - 218 Student Discipline
  - 218.1 Weapons
  - 218.2 Terroristic Threats
  - 234 Pregnant/Parenting/Married Students
  - 247 Hazing
  - 249 Bullying/Cyberbullying
  - 252 Dating Violence
  - 317.1 Educator Misconduct
  - 336 Personal Necessity Leave
  - 339 Uncompensated Leave
  - 801 Public Records
  - 803 School Calendar
  - 805 Emergency Preparedness and Response
  - 805.1 Relations with Law Enforcement Agencies
  - 805.2 School Security Personnel
  - 806 Child Abuse
  - 807 Opening Exercises/Moment of Silence/Flag Displays
  - 824 Maintaining Professional Adult/Student Boundaries
  - 904 Public Attendance at School Events
  - 909 Municipal Government Relations
- 3. Approval to appoint Leslie Huddy as the New Brighton Area School District representative to the New Brighton Public Library Board.

Motion Second	Vote
---------------	------

# EDUCATION – Mrs. Mattica

1. I move to approve an Agreement with Beaver Valley Intermediate Unit to provide Title I services to eligible New Brighton students attending Nonpublic schools.

Motion \_\_\_\_\_ Second \_\_\_\_\_ Vote \_\_\_\_\_

FINANCE – Mr. Funkhouser

1. I move to approve a contract with Pro Care Therapy to provide Psychological services to the New Brighton Area School District for the 2024-2025 school year.

Motion	Second	Vote
--------	--------	------

## **REGULAR MEETING**

# PERSONNEL – Mrs. Ceratti

I move to approve Personnel items 1 through 6.

- 1. Approval for the Superintendent to hire substitute teachers for the 2024-2025 school year on an emergency basis.
- 2. Approval for Dr. Marc Clayton and Clayton Dentistry to serve as the school dentist for the 2024-2025 school year at a stipend of \$1,900.00.
- 3. Approval for Dr. Susan Saunders to serve as the school physician for the 2024-2025 school year.
- 4. Approval of the following rates for substitutes for the 2024-2025 school year.

Custodial	\$14.00
Lunchroom Monitor	\$10.00
Secretarial	\$12.00
Instructional Assistant	\$12.00

- 5. Approval of the McCarter Transit, Inc. bus routes for the 2024-2025 school year for the New Brighton Area School District.
- 6. Approval of the revised list of August bus and van drivers for the 2024-2025 school year from McCarter Transit, Inc., as presented.

Motion Vote	
-------------	--

7. Approval of the following individuals to serve as lunchroom monitors for the 2024-2025 school year at a stipend of \$10.25 per hour.

Leslie Strum Erica Milcic

Motion \_\_\_\_\_\_ Second \_\_\_\_\_ Vote \_\_\_\_\_

8. Approval of the following individual to serve as a Study Hall Monitor for the 2024-2025 school year at a stipend of \$10.75 per hour.

	Jerry Wright	High School	
Motion	Second		Vote

9. Approval of the following individual to serve as a Mail Courier for the 2024-2025 school year at a stipend of \$9.50 per hour.

Bryan Krut

Motion \_\_\_\_\_\_ Second \_\_\_\_\_ Vote \_\_\_\_\_

10. Approval of the following staff to serve as Saturday Detention monitors for the 2024-2025 school year.

Carol Postupac Wesley Remley Samantha Shaffer

Motion \_\_\_\_\_ Second \_\_\_\_\_ Vote \_\_\_\_\_

11. Approval of the following individuals to serve in Index/Stipend positions for the 2024-2025 school year.

Gifted Coordinator	Krista Braymer
High School After School Detention Monitor	Linda Runatz
Middle School After School Detention Monitor	Samantha Shaffer
Middle School Stage	Jason Davis
High School Choral Director	Mark Alexander
Middle School Choral Director	Mark Alexander
Middle School Band Director	Jeff Frankenstein
Elementary School Choral Director	Stephanie Chiocchi
Elementary School Yearbook	Deborah Ramsey
Middle School Yearbook	Teresa Hamilton
Chic Clique Sponsor	Samantha Shaffer
Boys Club Sponsor	Matt Wagner
Career Portfolio Coordinators	Aimee Young and Michelle Hubbard
Senior Class Advisor	Hailey Kohan
Junior Class Advisor	Nicole Nardulli
Sophomore Class Advisor	Melinda Phillips
Freshman Class Advisor	Rachael Didio
Band Director	Hannah Claerbaut
Assistant Band Director	Jeff Frankenstein
Band Auxiliary Instructor	Pam Laughlin
Auxiliary Instructor – Choreographer	Katie Laughlin
Ushers Club Sponsor	Krista Berger
High School Student Council Sponsor	Amanda Szymoniak
Mock Trial Sponsor	Katelyn Garuccio
Mock Trial Assistant Sponsor	David Hartung
Interact Club Sponsor	Joseph Tabay
S.A.D.D. Sponsor	Bryan Pasquale
Lioness Sponsor	Hailey Kohan
High School National Honor Society	Joseph Tabay
Homecoming Sponsor	Katelyn Garuccio
Auditorium Manager	Broc Atkinson
Math Counts Sponsor	Wes Remley
Middle School National Junior Honor Society	Keith Wolfgong
Elementary School Student Council Sponsors	Jocelyn Cornman & Stephanie Chiocchi
Musical Director	Sandy Reigel

Communicato	or		Linda Runatz
High School Yearbook Sponsor		Linda Runatz	
Academic Games Coordinator		Krista Braymer	
Academic Games Coach-Social Studies			Matt Wagner
Academic Ga	mes Coach-Language Arts &	Math	Krista Braymer
Motion	Second		Vote
salaries as i			es for the 2024-2025 school year at and Administrative review of all
•	Assistant Coach – Boys Bask Assistant Coach – Girls Bask		ave Anderson cott Dibble
Motion	Second		Vote
			volunteers for the 2024-2025 school all required forms and clearances.
•	s Varsity Basketball	Tim Eh	
•	s Varsity Basketball	Josh El	
Boy	s Varsity Basketball	Richard	d Walton
Girl	s Varsity Basketball	Madyly	/n Aulbach
Girl	s Varsity Basketball	Steve F	Iervatine
Girl	s Varsity Basketball	Rick M	lcKinney
Motion	Second		Vote
-	pprove an intermittent Family rough August 29, 2025.	Medical Lea	we for Lisa Hutchinson from August
Motion	Second		Vote
-	pprove the retirement of Bern on Area School District, effec		s an Instructional Assistant for the 1, 2024.
Motion	Second		Vote
INFORMAT	completion of three (		lowing individuals upon satisfactory accessful teaching:
	IN IN	mou Dugu	

Jason Davis