The Fannin County Board of Education met in a work session with the following members present: Lewis DeWeese, Chair; Chad Galloway, Vice-Chair; Terry Bramlett; Bobby Bearden; and Steve Stanley. All members were present.

Lewis DeWeese, Chair, deferred the responsibility of chairing the meeting to Chad Galloway, Vice-Chair, who in turn called the meeting to order.

April Hodges, Principal of Blue Ridge Elementary School, gave an update to the Board on school happenings.

Danny Shinpaugh, Maintenance and Facilities Director, shared a construction update on the Fannin County Agriculture and Environmental Science Facility with the Board.

Betsy Hyde, Associate Superintendent, shared an update of the Fannin County School Governance Teams with the Board (see attached).

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Steve Stanley, to go in to executive session to discuss or deliberate upon the appointment, employment, compensation, hiring, disciplinary action or dismissal, or periodic evaluation or rating of a public officer or employee or to interview applicants for the position of superintendent; (O.C.G.A. 50-14-3(b)(2)).

To consult and meet with legal counsel pertaining to pending or potential litigation, settlement, claims, administrative proceedings, or other judicial actions brought or to be brought by or against the school district or an officer or employee or in which the officer or employee may be directly involved; (O.C.G.A § 50-14-2(1)).

To discuss or vote to authorize negotiations to purchase, dispose of, or lease property; authorize ordering an appraisal related to the acquisition or disposal of real estate; enter into a contract to purchase, dispose of, or lease property subject to approval in a subsequent public vote; or enter into an option to purchase, dispose of or lease real estate subject to approval in a subsequent public vote; (O.C.G.A. § 50-14-3(b)(1)). All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to resume the regular meeting. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Chad Galloway, Vice-Chair, announced no action was taken during executive session.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to approve the executive session minutes for January 11, 2018. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to accept the resignation of Alicia Baugh effective end of SY 17-18. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Steve Stanley, to accept the resignation of Tony Galloway effective March 2, 2018. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to accept the resignation of Robin Hilton effective end of SY 17-18. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Chad Galloway, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to accept the resignation of Mildred Johnson effective June 1, 2018. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to accept the resignation of Misty Keaton effective March 7, 2018. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Chad Galloway, to accept the resignation of James "Jim" Pavao effective March 9, 2018. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to accept the resignation of Leslie J. Perenich effective April 30, 2018. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Steve Stanley, to accept the resignation of Amanda Plavich effective end of SY 17-18. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Steve Stanley, to accept the resignation of Wanda Stewart effective June 1, 2018. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Chad Galloway, to approve Kelly Vernay Gonzales for the Nutrition Department. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Lewis DeWeese, to approve James Hyatt for the Maintenance Department. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Terry Bramlett, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to approve Edward "Eddie" Ratcliff as a custodian. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve Matthew Smidl as a paraprofessional. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Steve Stanley, seconded by Bobby Bearden, to transfer Jessica George Long to secretary/attendance support team. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Motion by Lewis DeWeese, seconded by Steve Stanley, to approve Bruce S. Carnahan as a substitute teacher pending completion of paper work. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Superintendent Michael Gwatney reviewed the agenda for the upcoming Board meeting on Thursday, March 8, 2018, at 6:00 p.m.

There being no further business to come before the meeting, a motion was made by Bobby Bearden, seconded by Steve Stanley, to adjourn subject to being called into special session by the Chair when deemed necessary. All members voted yes; motion carried.

Lewis DeWeese, Chairperson			