## INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT I-007 DEWEY, OKLAHOMA **Board MINUTES for Dewey Public Schools Board of Education** MEETING TYPE: Regular Session DATE: May 2, 2022 TIME: 6pm LOCATION: Administration Building, Conference Room Visitors Present: Garrett Giles, Chris Russell, Brent Dugger, Josh Stowe, Brent Massey, Travis Ruble, Jerri Moore, Julia Quinn, Gail Crawford & family Order of Business 1 Call to Order 2 Roll Call - Establish Quorum: Amy LaSpisa-P David Chancellor-P Amanda Guilfoyle-P David Cleveland-P Ryan Higbee-P Public Participat 3 Public Comment - (None) 4 Recognition and presentation to Gail Crawford, Dewey Public Schools' District Teacher of the Year. ${\small 5~Dewey~Public~Schools~technology~plan~update~covering~school~years~2023-2025~by~Technology~Director~Chris~Russell}\\$ Approve the update of Dewey Public Schools technology plan as presented by Tech Director Chris Russell. Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Board Minutes/Financial Approve the consent agenda as follows: 6 VOTE: Rvan Higbee made the motion to: a. Minutes from: i. Regular Meeting on April 4, 2022 b. Encumbrances c. Warrants d. Financial Reports e. Required School Board Member Continuing Education Hours Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa 7 VOTE Approve the HS Key Club fundraiser request for the 2021-2022 school year. Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Voting Yes: Approve the 2022-2023 Application for Temporary Appropriations. Voting Yes: Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Amanda Guilfoyle inistrative 9 VOTE: David Cleveland made the motion to: Approve a 2nd renewal of the contract w/ Taher, Inc as Dewey Public Schools' Food Service Mgmt Company. Voting Yes: Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa 10 VOTE: Ryan Higbee made the motion to: Approve the revisions to the 2022-2023 school district academic calendar. Voting Yes: Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa 11 VOTE David Cleveland Approve the Department of Rehabilitation Services Transision School to Work: Work Study contract for school year 2022-23. Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Voting Yes: 12 VOTE: Amy LaSpisa made the motion to: Declare the items listed on Attachment C as surplus. Voting Yes: Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa da Guilfoyle Amy LaSpisa made the motion to: Convene into executive session at <u>6:32 pm</u> pursuant to [O.S. 25 Section 307 (B1)(B2)] to discuss: 13 VOTE: a. The purchase and/or appraisal of real property. b. The following letters of resignation: i. James Cherry - High School Teacher/Coach ii. Scott Fairlie - ISD Monitor/Bus Driver iii. Julia Sisson - Middle School Teacher iv. Tammie Smith - Elementary School Tutor v. Crystal Turner - Elementary School Teacher vi. Trent Turner - High School Teacher/Coach c. The employment, hiring, appointment, promotion of employees $i. \ Hiring \ Certified \ Personnel \ listed \ on \ Attachment \ A \ on \ a \ temporary \ contract \ for \ the \ 2022-23 \ school \ year.$ ii. Hiring Support Personnel listed on Attachment B for the 2022-2023 school year. iii. Hiring personnel to fill the following certified positions on temporary contract for the 2022-23 school year. 1. High School Teacher/Head Volleyball Coach d. Evaluation of the Superintendent Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Acknowledge Board's return to Open Session with reading of executive session minutes compliance announcement at 8:16pm by President Amy LaSpisa. Approve the purchase of real property 1.65 acres, Tract B - PS 20-27-13 City of Dewey 74029, Washington County, 14 VOTE: David Chancellor Oklahoma for a purchase price of \$25,000.00 to current owner Dewey Church of Christ, Inc., 1313 N. Osage Avenue, Dewey, OK 74029. Voting Yes: Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa nded by: Ryan Higbee 15 VOTE: David Cleveland made the mot Accept the following letters of resignation: a. James Cherry - High School Teacher/Coach b. Scott Fairlie - ISD Monitor/Bus Driver c. Julia Sisson - Middle School Teacher d. Tammie Smith - Elementary School Tutor e. Crystal Turner - Elementary School Teacher f. Trent Turner - High School Teacher/Coach Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Voting Yes: the motion to: Hire Certified Personnel listed on Attachment A on a temporary contract for the 2022-2023 school year. 16 VOTE: David Clevelar Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Hire Support Personnel listed on Attachment B for the 2022-2023 school year. Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Hire the following certified positions on a temporary contract for the 2022-2023 school year: 18 VOTE: a. High School Teacher/Head Volleyball Coach - Kirsten Ergenbright Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa Elect School Board positions as follows: 19 VOTE: Rvan High a. School Board President - David Chancellor b. School Board Vice President - Amanda Guilfoyle c. School Board Clerk - David Cleveland Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa 20 New Business (None) 21 VOTE: Adjourn (<u>8:22</u>pm) David Chancellor made the motion to:

Voting Yes: Ryan Higbee David Cleveland Amanda Guilfoyle David Chancellor Amy LaSpisa nded by: David Cleveland

\* The Board of Education may vote to convene into Executive Session to discuss any matter of this agenda for which Executive Session may be held under Oklahoma Law [O.S. 25 Section 307 (B1)(B2)]

\* All of the items listed under "Consent Agenda", which concern reports and items of a routine nature normally approved at a Board meeting, will be approved by one vote, unless any Board member desires to have a sepa

\* The Board may discuss, make motions, and vote on any matter appearing on this agenda. Such motions and votes may be to adopt, reject, table, reaffirm, rescind, or take no action on any agenda items

Amy LaSpisa	PRESIDENT	
David Chancellor	VICE PRESIDENT	
David Chancelloi	VICETRESIDENT	
Amanda Guilfoyle	CLERK	
David Cleveland	MEMBER	
	•	
Ryan Higbee	MEMBER	
	•	
Lorna Hogue	BOARD SECRETARY	