WELLNESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

New Milford Public Schools 50 East Street

New Milford, Connecticut 06776

WELLNESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE **MEETING NOTICE**

October 24, 2019 DATE: 3:45 PM-5:00 PM TIME:

PLACE: Sarah Noble Intermediate School, LMC

AGENDA

New Milford Public Schools Mission Statement

The mission of the New Milford Public Schools, a collaborative partnership of students, educators, family, and community is to prepare each and every student to compete and excel in an ever-changing world, embrace challenges with vigor, respect and appreciate the worth of every human being, and contribute to society by providing effective instruction and dynamic curriculum, offering a wide range of valuable experiences, and inspiring students to pursue their dreams and aspirations.

1. CALL TO ORDER

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

An individual may address the Committee concerning any item on the agenda for the meeting subject to the following provisions:

- A. A three-minute time limit may be allocated to each speaker with a maximum of twenty minutes being set aside per meeting. The Committee may, by a majority vote, cancel or adjust these time limits.
- B. If a member of the public comments about the performance of an employee or a Committee member, whether positive, negative, or neutral, and whether named or not, the Committee shall not respond to such comments unless the topic is an explicit item on the agenda and the employee or the Committee member has been provided with the requisite notice and due process required by law. Similarly, in accordance with federal law pertaining to student confidentiality, the Committee shall not respond to or otherwise discuss any comments that might be made pertaining to students.

3. ITEMS OF INFORMATION

- A. Mindfulness Activity: Anne Bilko
- B. Camella's Cupboard Update: Angie Chastain
- C. August Professional Development Overview/Copper Beach: Laura Olson
- D. Legal Updates: Administration of Medication: Betsey Thibodeau
- E. Upcoming Wellness Policy Revisions: Sandra Sullivan
- F. Vaping Update: Christine Benson
- Choose Love Curriculum: Dr. Tomasello G.

4. PUBLIC COMMENT

An individual may address the Committee concerning any item on the agenda for the meeting subject to the following provisions:

- A. A three-minute time limit may be allocated to each speaker with a maximum of twenty minutes being set aside per meeting. The Committee may, by a majority vote, cancel or adjust these time limits.
- B. If a member of the public comments about the performance of an employee or a Committee member, whether positive, negative, or neutral, and whether named or not, the Committee shall not respond to such comments unless the topic is an explicit item on the agenda and the employee or the Committee member has been provided with the requisite notice and due process required by law. Similarly, in accordance with federal law pertaining to student confidentiality, the Committee shall not respond to or otherwise discuss any comments that might be made pertaining to students.

5. ADJOURN

Committee Chairs: Mrs. Laura Olson, Ms. Anne Bilko, Mrs. Jane Danish **Committee Members:** Mr. Alex Amaru, Mrs. Christine Benson, Mrs. Gina Bernard, Mrs. Anne Bilko, Mrs. Michelle Bouchard, Mrs. Debbie Clark, Ms. Christine Constable, Mr. Justin Cullmer, Mr. Bill Dahl, Mrs. Ashley Dovale, Mrs. Denise Duggan, Mrs. Jean Ficke, Ms. Megan Freyer, Mrs. Cindy Gallagher, Mrs. Gwen Gallagher, Mr. Scott Hoffman, Mrs. Stacey Kabasakalian, Mr. Keith Lipinsky, Dr. Chris Longo, Mrs. Michelle MacDonnell, Mrs. Julianne Morin, Mrs. Barbara Morris, Mrs. Lynn Nissenbaum, Mrs. Mary Orcutt, Mrs. Dyane Rizzo, Mrs. Mariann Schirizzo, Mrs. Sandra Sullivan, Mr. Eric Williams