Proceedings April 11, 2022

The school board of Clark School District #12-2 convened in regular session in the library on Monday April 11, 2022 at 6:30pm. The following members were in attendance, Malory McIntire, Greg Marx, Bob Steffen, Todd Fjelland and Nathan Luvaas. Also in attendance: Superintendent- Travis Ahrens, Business Manager- Mary Nelson, MS/HS Principal – Jennifer Heggelund and Courier Reporter- Bill Krikac and interested patrons. Renae Dahl was absent.

2022-109

President Steffen called the meeting to order at 6:30pm with all members saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

2022-110

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to approve the agenda. All in favor.

No conflicts of interest or waivers.

2022-111

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Marx to approve minutes from March 14, 2022 regular board meeting, March 23, 2022 special board meeting, financial reports as of March 31, 2022 and claims list presented for payment. All in favor.

2022-112

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Marx to approve the potential drainage work next to the school property. All in favor

South Dakota legislator, Fred Deutsch introduced himself.

2022-113

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Luvaas to approve Softball Park lease with the City of Clark. All in favor.

2022-114

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to approve the Clark School District joining the SDHSAA for the 2022-2023 school year. All in favor.

2022-115

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by McIntire to consider proposals for a wrestling room addition. All in favor.

2022-116

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to approve adoption of the updated Title IX policy for Clark School District. All in favor

2022-117

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Fjelland to designate MS/HS Principal, Jennifer Heggelund as Title IX coordinator. All in favor.

2022-118

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to approve revised Clark-Willow Lake Athletic Co-op agreement and activity stipends. All in favor.

2022-119

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Marx to vote for Robert Steffen for a seat on the ASBSD Board of Directors. All in favor.

2022-120

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to approve the resignation of Jennifer Jensen as Silver Lake Colony teacher, effective at the end of the school year. All in favor.

2022-121

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Marx to approve the resignation of Emily Meginness as part time elementary custodian effective April 1, 2022. All in favor.

2022-122

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to approve the resignation of Sam Williams as Head Girls Basketball coach. All in favor.

2022-123

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Fjelland to approve the resignation of Brenda Jongbloed as Silver Lake Colony paraprofessional, effective at the end of the school year. All in favor.

2022-124

Moved by Marx seconded by McIntire to approve the contract of Jon Redmond as Elementary and Colony Principal for the 2022-2023 school year(\$60,000 salary) All in favor.

2022-125

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to approve the resignation of Michael Garry, MS Teacher and Head Football Coach effective at the end of the school year. All in favor.

2022-126

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to go into executive session for discussion of personnel and negotiations SDCL 1-25-2.1 and SDCL 1-25-2.4 at 7:23pm. All in favor.

Open session resumed at 8:42pm.

2022-127

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to adjourn the regular meeting of April 11th, 2022, at 8:43pm. All in favor.

ATTEST	Mary Nelson
Board Chairperson, Robert Steffen	Business Manager