

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 SCHOOL BOARD WORK SESSION MINUTES

July 31, 2023 MS/HS Media Center

The special meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Brandon Kern, Julie Bushinger, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

Also present: Brian Jacobson, Katie Polman, Tyler Church, Louis Rutten, Mike Ortmann, Kyle Gylsen, Lori Christensen

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the Agenda. Motion approved unanimously.

Todd Rapp joined the meeting virtually to present information regarding the role of School Board Members as it relates to the election.

Lori Christensen presented an update on core messaging and communications strategies for the upcoming operating levy and bond referendum.

Supt. Westrum presented a list of community information meetings that have been scheduled as a way to inform the public about the operating levy and bond referendum.

Supt. Westrum presented an update on the status of the operating levy. The Budget Committee will present a recommendation at the next Regular School Board meeting.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Tumberg to approve the separation agreement with Tom VanErp. Members in favor: Kern, Seelhammer, Tumberg, Bushinger, Schmidt, Lawson Members opposed: none Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to adjourn the meeting at 6:11 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, August 21, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. in the Robertson Theatre.

Respectfully submitted by:

Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk

Dan Lawson, Board Chair

Date: _____