MINUTES Board Meeting January 28, 2019

The **board meeting** of the Tattnall County Board of Education was held on **January 28, 2019**, **1:00 P.M.** The meeting was **called to order** with a **welcome** by Chairman, Richard Bland, **prayer** by Dale Kicklighter and **pledge** to the Flag led by Stephanie Thomas.

Those board members present were:

Richard Bland Ronnie Oliver DuAnn Cowart Davis Stephanie Thomas Mary Ruth Ray Dale Kicklighter

The board Superintendent present was:

Dr. Gina G. Williams

System staff members present were:

Donna Bland, Debbie Powell, Debbie Baker, Lynna Hilliard, Tracy Cammack, Ellen Kingery and Mallory Jenkins.

Visitors present were:

Pam Waters, *Journal-Sentinel*, Terry Waters, Walt Rogers, Kyle Sapp, Joann Anderson and Sydney Clifton.

On Motion of Mary Ruth Ray, and seconded by Dale Kicklighter, the board unanimously adopted the agenda for January 28, 2019.

Received presentations/requests from visitors/others:

(To assure that the board can conduct its business efficiently, all presentations should be brief and shall be limited, not to exceed five [5] minutes, unless an extension of time is granted. All personnel/student and real estate matters may be discussed in executive session.

GES presentation: State BETA winners.

II. ITEMS OF INFORMATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

A. Received reports from Superintendent.

- 1. Superintendent reported:
 - a) Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Ronnie Oliver and seconded by DuAnn Cowart Davis, it was unanimous to approve Elementary and Junior Beta Club trip to National Convention, in Oklahoma City, OK, June 14 -18, 2019.
 - b) Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Dale Kicklighter and seconded by Mary Ruth Ray, it was unanimous to approve to deed up to 1 acre of property on the TCHS campus to the County Commissioners for the purpose of constructing a fire sub-station.
- 2. Chairman reported:

a) Upon motion of Dale Kicklighter and seconded by DuAnn Cowart Davis, it was unanimous to approve the following regular board meeting dates and advertise as required by law: Every fourth Monday of each month at 1:00 p.m. at the Board of Education. With the following exception:

> May 20, 2019 (3rd Monday) November 18, 2019 (3rd Monday) December 9, 2019 (2nd Monday)

- b) Upon motion of Dale Kicklighter and seconded by Stephanie Thomas, it was unanimously approved that Mary Ruth Ray serve as Vice-Chairperson of the school board in the absence of the Chairman.
- c) Upon motion of Mary Ruth Ray and seconded by Stephanie Thomas, it was unanimous to employ Harben, Hartley & Hawkins, LLP, on an "as-needed" basis for the year 2019.
- III. SUPERINTENDENT'S RECOMMENDATIONS AND REPORTS On motion of DuAnn Cowart Davis and seconded by Ronnie Oliver, the board unanimously approved the consent agenda as presented for the January 28, 2019, meeting.
 - A. Approved Minutes Regular board meeting for Monday, December 17, 2018, 1:00 p.m.
 - B. Employed certified personnel: (Employment is temporary/provisional until the receipt of a criminal records check/fingerprints and Georgia Teacher Certification). April McFadden, Teacher
 - C. Employed non-certified personnel: Alana Salter, Nurse Cayla Thompson, Parapro Javon Sallie, Transportation Jessica Sanders, Bus driver Kristin Crawford, Parapro
 - D. Approved Student workers: Daniel Andrade, STMS Bethany Rush, CES
 - E. Approved Pre-K agreement.
 - F. Accepted resignations and identified personnel leaving the system: (Effective May 24, 2019)

Pam MacSorley, Teacher (Retirement) Leigh Dreggors, Teacher (Retirement) Dianne Hunter, Teacher (Retirement) Ashlee Lanier, Teacher (Resignation) Heidi Flowers, Teacher (Resignation)

G. Approved NTMS and RES Technology Surplus (see attached)

- H. Accepted November 2018 and December 2018 expenditures.
- I. Approved amended FY19 Budget.
- IV. Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by DuAnn Cowart Davis and seconded by Stephanie Thomas, it was unanimously approved to employ Certified Central Office Administration/Principals:

Denna Ansley (49%) Nicole Balkcom **Starla Barker** James Brown (49%) Jeannie Burkhalter Lisa Burkhalter **Cari Crews Tina Debevec Chris Freeman** Lynna Hilliard **Gwenda Johnson** Kristi Kaiser Adam Kirby **David Tucker** Lisa Trim (49%) **Carla Waters Kristen Waters**

V. Motioned by Dale Kicklighter, the board adjourned at 1:34 p.m.

Chairman
Vice Chair
Board Member
Board Member
Board Member
Board Member
Secretary

Approved: February 25, 2019