Minutes – Executive Session

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on March 19, 2024 beginning at 7:53P.M. Board members present were Yearout, Parrott, Rutherford, Sanders, Eichler, Smallwood, and Eckhoff

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Becky Eifert, and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared a letter of resignation from Michelle Johnson, High School Government for the end of 2023-2024 school year. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Eichler to accept the resignation as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared a letter of resignation from Carsyn Mertgen, SE Paraprofessional effective March 12, 2024 of the 2023/2024 school year. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Parrott to accept the resignation as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended the hiring of Matt Spunaugle for High School Government for the 2024-2025 school year. A motion made by Sanders, seconded by Parrott to accept the recommendation. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Elementary principal, Becky Eifert, reported on Allison Dady and Sarah Weatherby's evaluation and recommends a tenure teacher contracts be offered to both for the 2024-2025 school year. After discussion a motion was made by Eckhoff, seconded by Parrott to offer a tenure teacher contracts as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Sanders left at 9:05PM

The Teachers for Consideration for 2024-2025 Contracts List was given to board members. The probationary elementary, special education, and secondary teachers were considered for 2024-2025 contracts. The respective principals reported on the individual teacher evaluations and answered questions presented concerning the individuals listed. After discussion a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Rutherford to offer probationary teacher contracts for the 2024-2025 school year to Cheyanne Beard, Caitlin Brandt, Aleah Paxton, Kelsey Smith, Jennifer Smith, Braden Drehle, Mikel Drehle, Karie Gutierrez, Katelynn Schuld, Tatum Sinclair, Connor Spunaugle, Amy Biggerstaff, Gabbie Spunaugle, Malinda McBride, Jill Reimund, Jennifer Greene, Ashley Brown, and Lacey Lange. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-absent; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith asked the board should any further certified resignations be presented to him that he have permission to hire the best candidate to fill the position. A motion was made by Rutherford, seconded by Smallwood to give permission to hire the best candidate. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-absent; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Minutes – Executive Session

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Eichler to adjourn the executive session at 9:10 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

| President, Board of Education | Secretary, Board of Education |
|-------------------------------|-------------------------------|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |