## HENRY COUNTY R1 SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING Thursday, April 17, 2025, 6:00 P.M. Windsor High School/BOE Room, 210 North Street, Windsor, MO 65360

#### Members Present

Mr. Andy Burkhart, Mr. Ryan Hoffman, Mr. Scott Swigert, Dr. Jamie Burkhart, Ms. Jennifer Pipal, and Mr. Jason Heany

# Members Absent

Mr. Jake Drenon

### Additional Present

Mr. Brad Hunter, Mr. Justin Wells, Mr. Travis Goosen, Mrs. Lora Howard, Mr. Donnie Mayes, Mrs. Sasha Spangler, Mr. Bobby Cooper, Mrs. Jennifer McKnight, Mr. Anthony Balbirnie, Mrs. Michal Brooks, Mrs. Felicia Melton, Mr. Will McKnight, Mr. Christian Ainsworth, Mr. Chuck Speer, Mrs. Bethany Moss, Mrs. Christina Orrick, Mrs. Rhonda Hawkins

The open session was conducted in the Board of Education Room located at 210 North Street.

## Preliminaries of the Meeting

At 6:00 P.M., Board President Mr. Jason Heany declared a quorum and called the meeting to order.

### II Welcome Guests, Pledge of Allegiance, Student Recognition

Mr. Jason Heany welcomed guests, and all in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

### III Approval of Agenda

Ms. Jennifer Pipal moved with a second by Mr. Ryan Hoffman to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 6-0.

## IV Approval of Consent Agenda

Mr. Scott Swigert moved with a second by Ms. Jennifer Pipal to approve the consent agenda as presented - payment of bills for \$204,084.61 (check nos 150733-150816), open minutes from March 20, 2025, and financials. Motion carried 6-0.

## V Certified Election Results

Mr. Scott Swigert moved with a second by Ms. Jennifer Pipal to approve the certified election results. Motion carried 6-0. Results are as follows:

	Pettis County	Benton County	Henry County	Johnson County	Total Votes
Jamie Burkhart	29	7	365	5	406
Ryan Hoffman	27	8	336	5	376

## VI Adjourn Old Board

Dr. Jamie Burkhart moved with a second by Ms. Jennifer Pipal to dissolve the 2024-2025 school board for the purpose of installing the newly elected board members and the election of officers for 2025-2026. Motion carried 6-0.

## VII Oath of New Officers

Dr. Jamie Burkhart and Mr. Ryan Hoffman were sworn into office for a term of three years by the Secretary, Mrs. Lora Howard. After being sworn into office, each signed the oath of office, which forms part of the minutes.

### VIII Call to Order

Superintendent Mr. Hunter declared a quorum present and called the meeting to order. Reorganization of the Board was held with new members consisting of the following members: Mr. Andy Burkhart, Mr. Ryan Hoffman, Mr. Scott Swigert, Dr. Jamie Burkhart, Mr. Jake Drenon, Ms. Jennifer Pipal, and Mr. Jason Heany.

### VIII Election of Officers

- Mr. Ryan Hoffman moved with a second by Ms. Jennifer Pipal to nominate Mr. Jason Heany for the office of President of the Henry County R1 School Board. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Jason Heany abstained from the vote.
- Mr. Scott Swigert moved with a second by Dr. Jamie Burkhart to nominate Ms. Jennifer Pipal for the office of Vice President of the Henry County R1 School Board. Motion carried 5-0. Ms. Jennifer Pipal abstained from the vote.
- Dr. Jamie Burkhart moved with a second by Ms. Jennifer Pipal to nominate Mrs. Lora Howard for the office of Secretary/Treasurer of the Henry County R1 School Board. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Scott Swigert abstained from the vote.

### IX Items for Discussion

Dr. Jamie Burkhart presented the following legislative update to the board:

- HB 711 open enrollment
- Parents Bill of Rights Act

## X Administration Reports

Mr. Wells and Mr. Goosen were present to answer questions. Additionally, Mr. Mayes was in attendance to address any inquiries. All board reports have been compiled in the board packet, which can be accessed on the district website.

Mr. Hunter updated the board on the following items:

- Proposition Greyhound was not included on the Johnson County ballots. The request to present this ballot issue will be made to the Johnson County Judge next week. If the ballot is run again in Johnson, Pettis, Henry, and Benton Counties, the district will be responsible for covering the election costs.
- The Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) application has been completed and submitted. This program will enable HCR1 to serve meals to the public from May 27, 2025, through August 15, 2025.
- Purple Star plaques have been installed in the high school foyer.
- HCR1 is collaborating with Susan Feeback and the Central Regional Planning and Development Commission (CRPDC), utilizing their District Continuous Improvement Program.
- MAP/EOC testing is scheduled to take place from May 1, 2025, to May 9, 2025.
- Graduation will be held on May 18, 2025, at 2:00 PM.

## XI New Business

Mr. Hunter presented the staff insurance rates for the 2025-2026 school year. He recommends that the board approve the PPO Base plan from Blue Cross Blue Shield, with the board-paid contribution capped at \$759.93 per month. Additionally, he suggested including Buy-Up Option #1, Buy-Up Option #2, and a Health Savings Account (HSA) option. Dr. Jamie Burkhart moved with a second by Mr. Andy Burkhart to accept Mr. Hunter's recommendations. Motion carried 5-1.

## XII Approval of Executive Session

Ms. Jennifer Pipal moved with a second by Mr. Scott Swigert to enter executive session for consideration of matters relating to personnel with discussion, record, and vote of the meeting closed in accordance with 610.021 (3) of Missouri Statutes. Roll call vote: A. Burkhart-yes; Hoffman-yes; Swigert-yes; J. Burkhart-yes; Pipal-yes; Heany-yes. Motion carried 6-0.

# X Adjournment

The meeting was properly adjourned at 6:52 P.M.