

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

September 18, 2023 Robertson Theatre

The regular meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Brandon Kern, Julie Bushinger, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

Also present: Brian Jacobson, Katie Polman, Mike Ortmann, Tyler Church, Louis Rutten,

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the Agenda. Motion approved unanimously.

The following community members address the Board during the Public Forum period:

Deb Hartmann - Flag Policy Amos Self - Follow up Deb Nelson - Mental Health Tanya Collins - Parent Trust Aaron Spicer - Referendum

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the August 21, 2023 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the hires of Kimberly Cusey, Elementary Paraprofessional; Annette Hadeed, Preschool Paraprofessional; Steve Short, Elementary Paraprofessional; Gabriela Wegscheid, ELL Teacher; Kimberly Hedlund, MS/HS Head Cook; Kayla Carpenter, Food Service Worker; Amy Anderson, Food Service Worker; Christina Johnson, Food Service Worker; Jan Jacobson (moving to) Food Service Worker; Krista Schmitz, HS Paraprofessional; Arianna Schmitz, HS Paraprofessional; Jessica Nelson, HS Paraprofessional; Wendy Caudillo, Title I Paraprofessional; Jared Jagush, Elementary Paraprofessional; Sarah Short, M|State Food Service Worker; Kelly Johnson, Preschool Paraprofessional; Jordan Irish, HS Paraprofessional. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmit, to approve the retirement of Donna Sartell, Administrative Assistant to the MS/HS Principal and the resignation of Connie Collins, Paraprofessional. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Tumberg, to approve lane changes for Jordan Cresap, Ryan Elfering, Megan Heino, Danielle Jetvig-Renner, Zach Martin, Brooke Umland, Malinda Thompson and Andrea Skillingstad. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to approve the following Disbursements:



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

September 18, 2023 Robertson Theatre

Vendor Check #'s 44247 - 44427 Credit Card (BMO Harris Bank): Student Activity Check #'s 23119 - 23127 \$508,009.83 \$11,198.96 \$6,414.67

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the following donations to the district:

Donor	Purpose	Amount
Wadena Elks	Golf Scramble - WDC extra curricular activities	\$1,250.00
Merickel Lumber Mills, Inc.	Golf Scramble - WDC extra curricular activities	\$200.00
Kern Technologies	Golf Scramble - WDC extra curricular activities	\$500.00
Wadena Elks	Community Ed-Babysitting Clinic	\$570.00
Top Gun Construction	Wadena Area Youth Baseball Raffle	\$170.00
Magnifi Financial	Summer Rec - Girls SB t-shirts	\$911.25

Motion approved unanimously.

The Board opened Discussion of MDE Commissioner's Review and Comment. No action was taken on this agenda item.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Tumberg, to adopt a resolution appointing election judges for the District Special Election. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Seelhammr, to approve the rate of pay at \$30.00 per hour for independent election judges for the District Special Election on November 7, 2023. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Bushinger, to adopt a resolution establishing location for absentee voting as the District Office: 600 Colfax Avenue SW, Wadena, MN 56482. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the cooperative sponsorship agreement with Verndale for Dance. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the dress code policy to include Option 3 under Motion was approved 5-1.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the District policies.



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES September 18, 2023 Robertson Theatre

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the maximum preliminary levy for 2023 payable in 2024. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmidt to set a special meeting for Wednesday, November 15, 2023 at Noon to Canvass election results. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern to set the Truth in Taxation hearing for December 18th, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to adjourn the meeting at 6:46 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, October 16, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. at the Bluffton Community Center.

Respectfully submitted by:

Date:

Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk

Date: _____

Dan Lawson, Board Chair