

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

April 17, 2023 MS/HS Media Center

The regular meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Brandon Kern, Julie Bushinger, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

Also present: Brian Jacobson, Katie Polman, Tyler Church, Louis Rutten, Norm Gallant, Beth Hawkins, Michael Ortmann, Alyssa Morlock, Mandy Gallant, Kevin Tumberg, Vicki Gerdes, Ryan Wolfenden, Greg Welch, Amos Self, Jessican Hinman, Eileen Meyers, Jessica Meyers, Amber McManigle, Danielle Sworski, Nicole Endres, Kim Gonzalez, Brad Cantleberry, Cindy Lanz, Aaron Spicer, Sarah Spicer, Breanne Kenney, Jason Kenney, Gail Kenney, Derek Tucker, Lindsay Tucker, Gail Goeden, Deb Hartman, B Hartman, Randy Becker, Jodi Becker, Michelle Peterson, Jess Bailey.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the Agenda. Motion approved unanimously.

The Board recognized the One Act Play director and participants for an outstanding job this year. They were the Subsection Champions and went on to finish 4th in the Section. Congratulations!

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the March 20, 2023 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the hires of Robby Grendahl, Head Boys Hockey Coach. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the resignations of Shayne Haustveit, Business Teacher; Chelsea Leddon, Elementary Paraprofessional. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the lane change for Bethany Danielson. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the following Disbursements:

 Vendor Check #'s 43458 - 43613
 \$520,281.12

 Credit Card (BMO Harris Bank):
 \$13,130.91

 Student Activity Check #'s 23047 - 23058
 \$15,305.78

Motion approved unanimously.



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

April 17, 2023 MS/HS Media Center

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to approve the following donations to the district:

Donor	Purpose	Amount
DC Lions Pull Tabs	Prairie Fire Theatre	\$500.00
WDC Staff	Coffee Maker	\$294.95
First Grade Teachers	1st Grade Trip	\$443.69
Leaf River Rec	Boys Hockey	\$80.00
Anonymous	Girls Basketball	\$125.00
DC Lions	BPA	\$500.00
Todd-Wadena Electric	BPA	\$50.00
Astera Health	Dance	\$1,500.00

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the new copier lease for 60 months. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to amend the school calendar to forgive the snow day from April 5th, 2023 and therefore leave the last day of school for students as June 1, 2023. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to add a public comment period to the beginning of WDC school board meetings going forward, and also to allow the Superintendent to add guidelines to the school website for said public comment periods. Motion approved unanimously.

Closed Session began at 7:02 p.m. Closed Session concluded at 7:19 p.m.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to deny a grievance from the bus driver's union and granted the superintendent latitude to negotiate if necessary. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Seelhammer, to adjourn the meeting at 7:24 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

April 17, 2023 MS/HS Media Center

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, May 15, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. in the Robertson Theatre.

Respectfully submitted by:	
Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk	Date:
Dan Lawson, Board Chair	Date: