## School Board Meeting Minutes Jackson County Central Schools ISD# 2895 October 7, 2024

The work session of the School Board of Jackson County Central Public Schools was held on Monday, October 7, 2024 in the High School Auditorium Conference Room and at 302 Eighth Ave NE, Mapleton MN at 5:30p.m.

The meeting was called to order at 5:34p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

JCC Mission Statement:

Uniting our communities to prepare learners to succeed in an ever-changing world ... Inspiring Excellence.

Members present: Rhonda Moore, Tina Polz, Amy Voss, Jody Thrush Withers, Levi Lucht, and Ben Appel. Also Ex-Officio Superintendent Barry Schmidt, Business Manager Maria Bezdicek

Other Visitors Present: Justin Lessman, Shelly Pohlman, Betty Hargan

Motion was made by Appel and seconded by Voss to approve the agenda as presented. Members voting yes: Thrush Withers, Polz, Appel, Lucht, Voss, and Moore. Members voting no: None. Motion carried.

## **Informational Items:**

Daycare salary increases for student workers MSHSL update

**Activities Council** 

- a. Pay for Game workers
- b. Hudl

## **Facilities**

- a. Track
- b. Small Scoreboard/Main Gym

MREA 2024 Platform

**Enrollment Update** 

Pool Survey Update

Finance Update

Strategic Plan Discussion

Roadmap

Board Agenda Calendar

## **Unfinished Business:**

The final reading and approval of the following policies has been moved to October 21 to stay on track of approving at regular board meetings.

- 506 Student Discipline Current Policy
- 506 Revisions reflect 2024 statutory changes re: reasonable force
- 507 Corporal Punishment and Prone Restraint Current
- 507 Revisions reflect 2024 statutory changes re: reasonable force
- 507.5 School Resource Officers This is a new policy for schools with SRO's
- 514 Bullving Prohibition Current Policy
- 514 Bullying Prohibition Clarified posting requirements and updated other sections

Motion was made by Appel and seconded by Thrush Withers to adjourn the meeting at 6:58p.m. Members voting yes: Thrush Withers, Polz, Appel, Lucht, Voss, and Moore. Members voting no: None. Motion carried.

Rhonda Moore,	Chair