Proceedings July 13, 2020

The school board of Clark School District #12-2 convened in regular session in the library on Monday, July 13, 2020 at 5:30pm. The following members were in attendance, Shannon Huber, Greg Marx, Bob Steffen, Todd Fjelland and Nathan Luvaas. Also in attendance: Superintendent- Luanne Warren, Business Manager- Mary Nelson, Elementary Principal –Renae Dahl, MS/HS Principal – Travis Ahrens and Courier Reporter- Bill Krikac and Malory McIntire.

Budget hearing started at 5:34pm and ended at 6:15pm. No interested patrons were present.

2020-146

President Steffen called the meeting to order at 6:15 with all members saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

2020-147

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Huber to approve the agenda. All in favor.

No open forum

No conflicts of interest or waivers.

2020-148

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to approve minutes from June 08, 2020 regular board meeting, financial reports as of June 30, 2020 and claims list presented for payment. All in favor.

Review of final athletic coop expenses discussed with the board.

2020-149

Moved by Fjelland seconded by Huber to accept coop athletic stipend changes for the 2020-2021 school year. All in favor.

2020-150

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to adopt the supplemental budget for the 2019-2020 budget. All in favor.

2020-151

Moved by Huber and seconded by Fjalland to support Heath Larson SDHSAA East River At Large Representative. (Run off vote) All in favor.

2020-152

Moved by Luvaas seconded by Marx to add an additional \$435 to each returning teacher salary due to legislative action of 2% raise to certified teachers. All in favor.

2020-153

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Luvaas to surplus the following items: record player (2) Dukane film strip projectors (5) Canon zoom lens, Music Ace Maestro, a CD ROM music theory binder, elementary library books (437-no value) All in favor.

2020-154

Moved by Huber and seconded by Marx to accept the signed returned rental agreement from Paul Striff/P4 Manufacturing. All in favor.

2020-155

Moved by Fjelland and seconded by Marx to go into executive session at 6:36pm for personnel matter and student matter SDCL 1-25-2.1 and SDCL 1-25-2.2. All in favor.

Open session resumed at 7:18pm.

2020-156

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Fjelland to approve the open enrollment 20-4 for the 2020-2021 school year. All in favor.

2020-157

Moved by Huber and seconded by Fjelland to adjourn the regular meeting of July 13, 2020 at 7:19pm. All in favor.

Luanne Warren called the meeting to order at 7:21pm..

Moved by Steffen and seconded by Luvaas to approve agenda. All in favor.

Certificate of Election was presented to Todd Fjelland (3yr term) and Malory McIntire(3 yr term) along with administer oath.

2021-001

Mrs Warren called for nomination of president.

A unanimous ballot was cast for Robert Steffen as President.

2021-002

President Steffen called for nomination for Vice-President

A unanimous ballot was cast for Todd Fjelland as Vice President

2021-003

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by McIntire to set regular board meetings for 2nd Monday of each month at 6:30pm at the high school library; Dacotah Bank as the official depository; the Clark Courier as the legal newspaper; authorize continuation of the School Food Service agreement with the state of South Dakota; designate Rodney Freeman as legal counsel; Luanne Warren as the Title II and School Improvement Coordinator, designate Luanne Warren as the administrator for all Federal programs as well as the truant officer and transportation supervisor. Appoint Robert Steffen as the board member designated as the voting member of the ASBSD. Malory McIntire will be the representative for the NESC with Greg Marx and Robert Steffen as alternates. The line of authority as spelled out in policy is Luanne Warren, Travis Ahrens, Renae Dahl and Mary Nelson, agree to join the SD United School Association and the Emergency Bus Pact.

2021-004

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to set the 20-21 board pay at \$75 per meeting; designate Mary Nelson and Robert Steffen as the custodian of financial accounts along with having the authority to use the facsimile signature, set surety bond at \$50,000, Mary Nelson as the authorized signature for the Trust and Agency Account, set the Imprest Fund at \$3,500, sub teacher pay for certified and certified with lapsed certification at \$110 per day and after 10 consecutive days, \$125 per day, noncertified at \$90 per day, paraprofessional sub at \$10.00 per hour & classified sub for janitorial/food service at \$10.00 per hour. Meal and mileage reimbursements to adults will follow state rate, currently as follows: \$0.42 per mile, \$6-breakfast, \$14-lunch, \$20-dinner. Student reimbursement for state events only will be \$10 per meal. School lunch costs rate at \$2.35 for preschool through grade 6, \$2.60 for grades 7 through 12, and \$3.80 for adults. Breakfast costs are set at \$1.20 for preschool through 4, \$2.00 for 5-12 \$0.60 for after school snacks, \$.75 for extra entrée, \$0.30 for extra milk. Admission prices set at \$5 for adults and \$3 for students, doubleheaders at \$6 for adults and \$4 for students. Activity passes at \$15 for students and \$40-adults, \$25 for age 60 and over. Annual prices will be \$45 for the 20-21 school year. All in favor.

Chairman Steffen made the following committee assignments:

NEGOTIATIONS: Fjelland & Steffen

POLICY: Marx & McIntire

BUILDING AND GROUNDS: Luvaas & Steffen

TECHNOLOGY: Marx & McIntire ATHLETIC COOP: Fjelland & Luvaas TRANSPORTATION: Fjelland & Luvaas

FINANCE: Marx & Steffen

Update on projects was given by Luanne Warren.

2021-005

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Fjelland to approve July claim list presented for payment. All in favor.

2021-006

Moved by Luvaas seconded by Marx to approve signed returned contract from Karla Classen- Fordham K-1 for the 2020-2021 school year. All in favor

2021-007 Moved by Fjelland and seconded by McIntire to adjourn the July 13, 2020 regular meeting at 8:55pm.	
ATTEST Board Chairperson, Robert Steffen	Mary Nelson Business Manager

Luanne Warren presented power point on Covid Task Force.