

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

May 15, 2023 Robertson Theatre

The regular meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Brandon Kern, Julie Bushinger, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

Also present: Father Gabriel Walz, Lee Meyers, TW, Zach Snyder, Michael Anderson, John Crandall, Lisa Perkins, Veronica Voge, Rob Havnes, Robert Segovia, Gina Segovia, Ryan Wolfenden, Jessica Meyers, Vicki Gerdes, Amber McManigle, Danielle Sworski, Tahna Rurup, Jason Ohrmundt, Curt Folkestad, Deb Folkestad, Jessica Pinnella, Amos Self, Sarah Spicer, Aaron Spicer, Kristi Ice, Brad Ice, Mike Ortmann, Dawn Carter, Nicki Funk, Autumn Hepp, Beckie Vorderbruggen, Joe Paulson, Mac Nelson, Nette Nelson, Tanya Collins, Isaac Ray, Martha Ray, Greg Welch, Kevin Goeden, Gail Goeden, Gail Kenney, Ashley Hadeed, Annette Hadeed, Denise Lowen, Rob Lowen, Deb Hartman, Louis Rutten, Deb Nelson, Kaisa Nelson, Nicole Endres, Scott Endres, Andrea Seelhammer, Jessica Hinman, Lloyd Lanz, Cindy Lanz, Frank Spartz, Kathy Spartz, Breanne Kenney, Krystal Boyd, Bronwynn Touchette, Dan Touchette, Keith Hagen, Pam Hagen, Alyssa Morlock, Kathy Anders, Jason Kenney, Audrey Brandt Loer, Michelle Anderson, Michelle Peterson, Dayle Reinke, Stacy Schmitz Miller, Paul Hamann, Todd Weiderich, Tyler Church, Katie Polman, Mary Ellenson

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the Agenda. Motion approved unanimously.

The Board recognized the BPA members for an outstanding season. Several members earned a trip to Nationals. Congratulations to all!

The Board also thanked Shayne Haustveit for his years as the BPA advisor and teacher at WDC.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the April 17, 2023 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to approve the May 9, 2023 Special Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the retirement of Tracy Dreger, Elementary Library Paraprofessional as of September 29, 2023. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to approve the following Disbursements:

Vendor Check #'s 43614 - 43766



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

May 15, 2023 Robertson Theatre

Credit Card (BMO Harris Bank): \$18,748.44 Student Activity Check #'s 23059 - 23081 \$24,931.65

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the following donations to the district:

Donor	Purpose	Amount
Merickel Lumber Mills, Inc	Prairie Fire Theatre	\$250.00
Chris O'Kane DDS, Inc	Prairie Fire Theatre	\$250.00
RJG Services Inc (Ameriprise)	Prairie Fire Theatre	\$50.00
Astera Health	Prairie Fire Theatre	\$500.00
Magnifi Financial	Prairie Fire Theatre	\$200.00
Walmart	KG - Safari North Field Trip	\$500.00
PTO	2nd Grade Otter Cove Children's Museum	\$450.00
Megan Martin	1st Grade Field Trip	\$28.00
Sourcewell	Catalyst Training	\$9,000.00
Kyle Dykhoff	Wadena Area Youth Baseball	\$1,000.00
Kyle Dykhoff	Wadena Area Youth Softball	\$500.00
First Congregational United Church of Christ Lamson Trust	BPA	\$1,000.00
First Congregational United Church of Christ Lamson Trust	Drama	\$1,000.00
DC Lions Pull Tabs	Senior Class	\$1,000.00
Wadena Elks	BPA	\$750.00

Motion approved unanimously.

Kristi Hastings with Pemberton Law Firm attended to address the Board with legal advice regarding bathroom use among transgender and nonconforming students in public schools.



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

May 15, 2023 Robertson Theatre

Commencement is Friday, May 26, 2023 at 7:00 p.m.

Supt. Westrum and Brian Jacobson provided an update on the FY24 Budget.

Mary Ellenson provided an update on the movement lab at the Elementary.

Supt. Westrum, Mr. Church and Mr. Rutten provided an update on Summer School and summer field trips, made possible by ESSER funds.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to adjourn the meeting at 6:53 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, June 12, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. at the Deer Creek Community Center.

Respectfully submitted by:	
	Date:
Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk	
	Date:
Dan Lawson, Board Chair	