Tri-Township Consolidated School Corporation

The consolidation between Cass Township School (Wanatah School) and the Dewey Prairie Consolidated School Corporation (LaCrosse School) was approved by the voters on May 3, 2011 and the Indiana State Board of Education on June 1, 2011.

The name of the new school corporation is the Tri-Township Consolidated School Corporation.

An organizational meeting was held on June 9, 2011. School Board members were Tim Guse (Cass Representative), Dick Bucher (Dewey Representative), Robert Younggreen (Prairie Representative), Joyce Spoljaric (At-Large Representative), and Paul Malecki (At-Large Representative). Norman Kleist was designated as the Superintendent.

Tri-Township operated two schools from 2011 until the spring of 2022. Wanatah Public School housed pre-Kindergarten through eighth grade. Victorine DePrey was the first principal after the consolidation. LaCrosse High School was for grades nine through twelve. Tim Somers was the first principal after the consolidation.

Cooperation between the three townships has a long history. Many Prairie students have attended Cass and Dewey schools since the closing of Willvale in 1947. Cass and Dewey townships enjoyed a Transfer Tuition agreement since the last graduating class from Wanatah in 1969.

At the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year, construction on five new classrooms began at Wanatah School. This addition would allow Tri-Township to have all students pre-Kindergarten to twelfth grade all in one building.

Starting the 2022-2023 school year, Tri-Township Consolidated School Corporation will have two schools housed in one building: Tri-Township Elementary and Tri-Township Jr/Sr.High School. Brian McMahan will be the first principal at all grade levels.