

## INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES September 16, 2024

Robertson Theatre

The regular meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Julie Bushinger, Brandon Kern, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the agenda with one addition under Part B: Community Concern for Youth Agreement Renewal. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the August 26, 2024 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the hires of Liezel Bennet, MS/HS Paraprofessional; Robert Higgins, Elementary Paraprofessional; Jared Reinetz, JH Girls Basketball; Kate Decker, EL Teacher (.5 FTE); Dorene Moe, Food Service. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the resignations of Gabriela Wegscheid, EL Teacher; Wendy Caudillo, Elementary Paraprofessional. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Tumberg, to approve lane changes for Holly Becker, Carly Carkhuff, Nolan Coyle, Ryan Elfering, Megan Heino, Danielle Jetvig-Renner, Laura Kiser, Abbie Schultz, Andrea Skillingstad, Brooke Umland and Monica Watson. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Kern, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the following Disbursements:

Vendor Check #'s	46372 - 46510	\$342,872.09
Credit Card (BMO Har	\$15,424.45	
Student Activity Check	:#'s 23314 - 23318	\$5,715.22

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the following donations to the district:

Donor	Purpose	Amount
Astera Health - Moen Brothers Grant	ADSIS Reading Intervention Program	\$2,677.00



Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the maximum preliminary levy for 2025 of \$2,442.434.77. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Schmidt, to approve free admission to WDC events for senior citizens and Veterans. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the dissolution of the current dance cooperative with Verndale. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Kern, to approve a new dance cooperative with Verndale and Parkers Prairie. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Bushinger, to set a special meeting to canvass election results for Tuesday, November 12, 2024 at 12:00 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Seelhammer, to set the truth in taxation hearing for Monday, December 16, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmidt, to approve a request for early entrance into Kindergarten. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Kern, to approve the hockey ice lease agreement for years 2024-2027. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve the MOU with the Teachers Union for Read Act pay. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmidt, to approve the continuation of inactive student activity accounts. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the Community Concerned for Youth agreement for 2025.

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Schmidt, to adjourn the meeting at 6:30 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Monday, October 21, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. at the Bluffton Community Center.

Respectfully submitted by:



## INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

September 16, 2024 Robertson Theatre

Barb Tumberg, B	oard Clerk
-----------------	------------

\_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_\_\_\_

Dan Lawson, Board Chair