# HENRY COUNTY R1 SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING Thursday, April 14, 2022, 6:00 P.M. High School Library/Media Center, 210 North Street, Windsor, MO 65360

#### Members Present

Mr. Jason Heany Mrs. Jennifer Pipal Mrs. Kathlene Brown Mr. Steve Eggers Mr. Jake Drenon

#### Members Absent Mr. Elda Lewis

Mr. Andy Burkhart joined the meeting at 6:06 PM

## Others Present

Dr. Scott Patrick, Interim Superintendent Mr. Brad Hunter, High School Principal Mrs. Kimberly Evans, Elementary School Principal Mrs. Whitney Bowers, Special Education Director Mrs. Lora Howard, Secretary

The open session was conducted in the Library/Media Center located at 210 North Street.

### Preliminaries of the Meeting

At 6:00 P.M., Board President Mr. Jason Heany declared a quorum and called the meeting to order.

### II Welcome Guests, Pledge of Allegiance, Student Recognition

All present recited the Pledge of Allegiance. An ensemble from the WHS band performed for the board of education. Superintendent Dr. Patrick recognized the Board Members and presented each member with a certificate.

#### III Approval of Agenda

Mr. Steve Eggers moved with a second by Mrs. Jennifer Pipal to approve the agenda as presented. Motion passed: 5-0.

#### IV Consent Agenda

Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mrs. Kathlene Brown to approve the consent agenda as presented, including open minutes from March 10, 2022 and March 22, 2022, payment of bills for \$224,587.96 (check nos. 1028, 1029; 146847-146949) and financials. Motion passed: 6-0.

#### V Certified Election

Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mrs. Kathlene Brown to approve the certified election. Motion passed 6-0. Results are as follows:

	Pettis County	Benton County	Henry County	Johnson County	Total Votes
Steve Eggers	39	5	104	4	152
Mike Daugherty	30	10	102	2	144
David Cooley	26	9	104	12	151
Jeffery Gray	14	3	94	12	123

#### VI Adjourn Old Board

Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mrs. Jennifer Pipal to adjourn the old board. Motion carried 6-0.

#### VII Oath of New Officers

Mr. Steve Eggers and Mr. David Cooley were sworn into office for a term of three years by the Secretary, Mrs. Lora Howard. After being sworn into office, each signed the oath of office, which forms a part of the minutes.

#### VIII Call to Order

Superintendent Dr. Scott Patrick declared a quorum present and called the meeting to order. Reorganization of the Board was held with new board members consisting of the following members: Mr. Andy Burkhart, Mrs. Jennifer Pipal, Mrs. Kathlene Brown, Mr. Steve Eggers, Mr. Jake Drenon, Mr. David Cooley and Mr. Jason Heany.

#### IX Election of Officers

- A. Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mrs. Kathlene Brown to nominate Mr. Jason Heany for the office of President. Motion passed 6-0.
  Mr. Jason Heany abstained from the vote.
- B. Mr. Steve Eggers moved with a second by Mr. Andy Burkhart to nominate Mrs. Jennifer Pipal for the office of Vice President. Motion passed 6-0. Mrs. Jennifer Pipal abstained from the vote.
- C. Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mrs. Kathlene to nominate Mrs. Lora Howard as Secretary/Treasurer. Motion passed 7-0.
- D. Mrs. Jennifer Pipal moved with a second by Mr. Steve Eggers to nominate Mr. Jake Drenon as MSBA Delegate. Motion passed 6-0. Mr. Jake Drenon abstained from the vote.
- E. Mrs. Jennfer Pipal moved with a second by Mr. Jake Drenon to nominate Mr. Steve Eggers as MSBA Delegate Alternate. Motion passed 6-0. Mr. Steve Eggers abstained from the vote.

#### X Administration Report

Mr. Hunter, Mrs. Evans, and Mrs. Bowers were present for questions for the board regarding their respective building/departments.

### XI New Business

- A. Jeff Walstom, Bukaty Insurance Representative, presented options regarding the 2022-2023 insurance rates. Superintendent Dr. Patrick spoke on two options for the board to consider. Option A - to completely do away with the cap and not have the employees pay any portion of the premium, having the district pay 100% of the premium. Option B increase the cap that is currently in place and have the district pay only the 15.6% increase of the premium. Mrs. Kathlene Brown moved with a second by Mr. Jake Drenon to completely do away with the cap and not have the employee pay any portion of the premium (Option A). Motion passed 7-0.
- B. Superintendent, Dr. Patrick recommended an addition of a Special Education Process Coordinator. Mr. Andy Burkhart moved with a second by Mr. David Cooley to table this recommendation. Motion passed 7-0.
- C. Mr. Andy Burkhart moved with a second by Mr. David Cooley to table item C, Recommendation for an additional Special Education teacher at Windsor High School. Motion passed 7-0.
- D. Mr. Andy Burkhart moved with a second by Mr. David Cooely to table item D, Recommendation for approval of certified, classified, administrative, and extra-duty salary schedules for the 2022-2023 school year. Motion passed 7-0.
- E. Superintendent Dr. Patrick recommended the board approve the bid from Athco for a total of \$556,305.00. Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mr. Steve Eggers to accept the bid. Motion passed 7-0.
- F. Superintendent Dr. Patrick recommended the board approve the bid from Arctic Food Equipment for a gas convection oven for a total of \$16,849.00. Mr. Jake Drenon moved with a second by Mr. David Cooley to accept the bid. Motion passed 7-0.
- G. Superintendent Dr. Patrick asked the board to consider moving the May board meeting to May 3, 2022. Mr. Andy Burkhart moved with a second by Mrs. Jennifer Pipal to accept the meeting date of May 3, 2022. Motion passed 7-0.

### VIII Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 8:14 P.M.

**Board President** 

Approved

Attest