Minutes – Executive Session

After a short break the Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on April 22, 2025 beginning at 8:25 P.M. Board members present were Parrott, Sanders, Eichler, Smallwood, Eckhoff, Casey, and Siercks.

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Elizabeth Eckhoff, and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared resignation letters from Amy Biggerstaff, Malinda McBride, and Brad Drehle. A motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Eckhoff to accept the resignations as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared resignation letters from Braden Drehle and Mikel Drehle. A motion was made by Siercks, seconded by Sanders to accept the resignations as presented and release both from their 2025/2026 probationary contracts. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-no; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 1 no.

Mr. Smith and Mr. Curtis recommended Connor Spunaugle for Athletic Director for the 2025-2026 school year. Motion by Sanders, seconded by Eckhoff to approve Connor Spunaugle as Athletic Director for the 2025-2026 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith reviewed the Support Staff 2025-2026 Assignments and evaluations of support staff with board members. A motion made by Smallwood, seconded by Eckhoff to approve the employment of the following Support Staff for the 2025-2026 school year--Michelle Smith, Brittany Beeman, Tasha Rutherford, Robert Greene, Luke Goosen, Kendra Ward, Theresa Jones, Xavier Smith, Monte Young, Jason Vandaveer, Brad Crouch, Ron Griffith, David Crouch, Rick Grundan, Dylan Gutierrez, Stanley Wright, Steve Wright, Nichole Stegink, Sarah Beamer, Niki Ragsdale, Alisa Bittner, and Elkhannah Carson. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith reviewed and recommended Sheree Eckhoff, Kristan Arbuckle, Kassandra Doner; Payton Gresham, Bonnie Griffith, Dani Hudlemeyer, Misty Hyde, Patricia Malotte, Maria Robinson, Chelsie West, Alicia Worthley, and Vicki Young, for High School and Special Services Paraprofessionals. A motion was made by Smallwood, seconded by Eckhoff to employ the Paraprofessionals as listed for High School and Special Services Paraprofessional positions for the 2024-2025 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Minutes – Executive Session

Mr. Smith recommended Chris Sanders for High School ISS Paraprofessional/PE Teacher. Motion by Siercks seconded by Smallwood, to employ Chris Sanders for High School ISS Paraprofessional/PE Teacher for the 2025-2026 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-abstained; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no, 1 abstained.

Mr. Curtis recommended Kara Ward for the High School FACS Teacher for the 2025-2026 school year. A motion was made by Smallwood seconded by Siercks, to hire Kara Ward for High School FACS Teacher for the 2025-2026 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith requested permission to hire the best applicant for various open teaching positions for the 2025/2026 school year. A motion made by Smallwood seconded by Casey to give permission to hire the best applicant for open teaching positions. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

The list of students for graduation 2025 was presented. A motion was made by Eckhoff seconded by Siercks to approve the list of students for graduation pending completion of credits and graduation requirements. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Eichler seconded by Smallwood to adjourn the executive session at 9:30 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Siercks-yes; Casey-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; and Parrott-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education	