

Grand Canyon Unified School District #4 Saturday, January 9, 2021 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Special Board Meeting (Board Retreat)

Meeting Minutes

Minutes are recorded as annotations of the agenda, as indicated in gray background and left paragraph bars (bars have been added because the gray background may not copy).

Due to the pandemic, this will be a virtual meeting.

Pursuant to A.R.S. 38-341.02, notice is hereby given to the public that the Governing Board of the Grand Canyon Unified School District #4 will convene for a 1:00 PM Special Board Meeting (Board Retreat). The Special Meeting will be held Saturday, January 9, 2021, through Zoom.

Join Zoom Webinar: https://zoom.us/j/96356754565

Or iPhone one-tap : US: +16699009128,,96356754565# or +12532158782,,96356754565# Or Telephone: Dial (for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location): US: +1 669 900 9128 or +1 253 215 8782 or +1 346 248 7799 or +1 646 558 8656 or +1 301 715 8592 or +1 312 626 6799 Webinar ID: 963 5675 4565

Special Board Meeting Agenda

I. CALL TO ORDER

Motion by: Mr. Kevin Hartigan

At: 1:04 PM

Motion: Call to Order

Second: Ms. Kathryn Morris

Vote Tally

Board Member	Yes	No	Abstain	NA
Kevin Hartigan	х			
Lauren Griffioen			х	
Kathryn Morris	х			
SuZan Pearce	х			
Jessica Warren			х	
Mr. Pete Shearer	х			
Mr. Joe Rabon				х

Note: Ms. Griffioen and Ms. Warren are included in the roster, however as they had not yet been sworn in as official board members are indicated as abstaining.

II. ROLL CALL

In compliance with social distancing and stay-at-home recommendations issued by the Center for Disease Control and directions from Federal and State governments in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this Board meeting was held virtually by phone/web conference.

Designation of "present" in the roll call indicates these members were identified as active members in the conference call.

The Board Meeting phone/web conference information was provided for the public in the meeting posting. As a result not all individuals who called into the meeting were identified. Only Board Members and district staff who actually reported to the Board are identified in the roll call.

Board members present:

- Ms. Lauren Griffioen
- Mr. Kevin Hartigan
- Ms. Kathryn Morris
- Ms. SuZan Pearce
- Ms. Jessica Warren
- Mr. Pete Shearer
- Mr. Joe Rabon; Mr. Rabon was not available for the meeting.

District staff members present:

- Ms. Tosca Henry, JD, Legal Counsel
- Dr. Shonny Bria, Ph. D., Superintendent
- Mr. Matt Yost, Principal

• Mr. Thomas O'Connor, Program Director, Acting Board Secretary

III. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion by:	Mr. Kevin Hartigan
At:	1:09 PM
Motion:	Approval of the agenda as presented
Second:	Ms. SuZan Pearce

Vote Tally

Board Member	Yes	No	Abstain	NA
Kevin Hartigan	х			
Lauren Griffioen			Х	
Kathryn Morris	х			
SuZan Pearce	х			
Jessica Warren			х	
Mr. Pete Shearer	х			
Mr. Joe Rabon				х

IV. BOARD RESPONSIBILITIES

A. Swearing-In of Board Members, Lauren Griffioen, Jessica Warren, Katie Morris, and Kevin Hartigan

Ms. Lauren Griffioen, Ms. Jessica Warren, Ms. Kathryn Morris and Mr. Kevin Hartigan were duly sworn in by Ms. Tosca Henry, JD, Legal Counsel at 1:09 p.m.

B. Recognition of Retiring Members, Pete Shearer and Joe Rabon

At the advice of Superintendent Dr. Bria, because Mr. Rabon was not available, Mr. Hartigan tabled the recognition of retiring members until the January 20 regular board meeting.

V. PRESENTATION/CORRESPONDENCE/DISCUSSION

- A. Boardsmanship and Open Meeting Laws Presenter Attorney Tosca Henry
- **B.** Discussion and Questions

Ms. Tosca Henry began her a presentation on Parliamentary Procedure and Boardsmanship

Mr. Hartigan called for a temporary recess at 2:00 PM.

Mr. Hartigan called for resumption of the meeting at 2:10 PM

Mr. Hartigan called for a temporary recess at 3:07 PM.

Mr. Hartigan called for resumption of the meeting at 5:15 PM.

Ms. Henry's presentation and questions concluded at 3:55 PM

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Motion by:	Mr. Kevin Hartigan
At:	3:55 PM
Motion:	Adjourn
Second:	Ms. SuZan Pearce
V . . U	

Vote Tally

Board Member	Yes	No	Abstain	NA
Kevin Hartigan	х			
Lauren Griffioen	х			
Kathryn Morris	х			
SuZan Pearce	х			
Jessica Warren	х			

Respectfully submitted by, _____

Board Secretary

Date_____

Kevin Hartigan Board President Jessica Warren Board Member

SuZan Pearce Board Clerk/Vice President Kathryn Morris Board Member

Lauren Griffioen Board Member