School Board Meeting Minutes Jackson County Central Schools ISD# 2895 December 4, 2023

The work session of the School Board of Jackson County Central Public Schools was held on **Monday, December 4, 2023 in the High School Auditorium Conference Room at 5:30p.m.** Please be advised of the enclosed proposed agenda and any appendices, which may be attached.

Chair Moore called the meeting to order at 5:30p.m.

Members present: Rhonda Moore, Troy Schultz, Tina Polz, Amy Voss, Jody Thrush Withers, Levi Lucht and Ben Appel. (**Circle those <u>NOT</u> present**.) Also Ex-Officio Superintendent Barry Schmidt, Business Manager Maria Bezdicek and Building & Grounds Director Drew Wedebrand. Others present: Director of Curriculum and Assessments Tammy Timko, and media Justin Lessman.

Motion was made by Schultz and seconded by Polz to approve the agenda as presented. Members voting yes: Thrush Withers, Polz, Appel, Lucht, Voss, Schultz, and Moore. Members voting no: None. Motion carried unanimously.

Informational Items:

World's Best Workforce

***At 6:00p.m. move to Truth in Taxation Public Hearing Levy Presentation

Superintendent Goals

Pool Update

Other: Facilities

Business Action Items

Motion was made by Thrush Withers and seconded by Voss to approve the 2022-23 World's Best Workforce Plan. Members voting yes: Thrush Withers, Polz, Appel, Lucht, Voss, Schultz, and Moore. Members voting no: None. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Lucht and seconded by Thrush Withers to approve the motion to move to closed session to discuss negotiations strategies as per Minn. Stat. 13D.03 at 6:38p.m. Members voting yes: Thrush Withers, Polz, Appel, Lucht, Voss, Schultz, and Moore. Members voting no: None. Motion carried unanimously.

Wherein the meeting enters closed session at 6:38p.m. Public meeting resumes at 7:11p.m.

Unfinished Business:

Motion was made by Appel and seconded by Lucht to approve the re-reading of the final reading of the following policies that have been updated to reflect MN laws enacted in 2023.

Members voting yes: Thrush Withers, Polz, Appel, Lucht, Voss, Schultz, and Moore. Members voting no: None. Motion carried unanimously.

- 507- Corporal Punishment (Current) 2023 MN Legislative Changes , PDF for Mobile
- 509 Enrollment of Nonresident (Current) 2023 MN Legislative Changes , PDF for Mobile
- 513 <u>Student Promotion, Retention, and Program Design (Current)</u> <u>2023 MN Legislative Changes, PDF for Mobile</u>
- 514 Bullying Prohibition Policy (Current) 2023 MN Legislative Changes , PDF for Mobile
- 524 <u>Internet Acceptance Use and Safety Policy</u> (Current) <u>2023 MN Legislative Changes, PDF</u> for Mobile
- 532 <u>Use of Peace Officers and Crisis Teams</u> (Current) <u>2023 MN Legislative Changes</u>, <u>PDF</u> for Mobile
- 534 School Meals Policy (Current) 2023 MN Legislative Changes , PDF for Mobile
- 602 <u>Organization of School Calendar and School Day (Current) 2023 MN Legislative Changes</u> ,PDF for Mobile

The following policies will be tabled for further review.

- 601 <u>School District Curriculum and Instruction Goals</u> (Current) <u>2023 MN Legislative Changes</u>, PDF for Mobile
- 603 Curriculum Development (Current) 2023 MN Legislative Changes, PDF for Mobile

New Business:

Second reading of the following policies that have been updated to reflect MN laws enacted in 2023.

- 604 Instructional Curriculum (Current) 2023 Legislative Changes
- 613 Graduation Requirements (Current) JCC Amended Changes, 2023 Legislative Changes
- 616 School District System Accountability (Current) 2023 Legislative Changes
- 617 JCC did not adopt this policy. 2023 Legislative Changes.
- 618 Assessment of Student Achievement (Current) 2023 Legislative Changes
- 620 Credit for Learning (Current) 2023 Legislative Changes
- 621 Literacy and the Read Act (New Policy)
- 624 Online Instruction (New Policy)
- 709 Student Transportation Safety Policy (Current) 2023 Legislative Changes

Motion was made by Appel and seconded by Polz to adjourn the meeting at 7:28p.m. Members voting yes: Thrush Withers, Polz, Appel, Lucht, Voss, Schultz, and Moore. Members voting no: None. Motion carried unanimously.

Rhonda Moore, Chair
Troy Schultz, Clerk