Proceedings May 13, 2024

The school board of Clark School District #12-2 convened in regular session in the library on Monday, May 13, 2024, at 6:30pm. The following members were in attendance, Malory McIntire, Greg Marx, Lacey Ortberg, Todd Fjelland and Nathan Luvaas. Also in attendance: Superintendent- Travis Ahrens, Business Manager- Mary Nelson, Elementary Principal –Jon Redmond, MS/HS Principal – Jennifer Heggelund and courier reporter.

2024-153

President Fjelland called the meeting to order at 6:30pm with all members saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

No open forum

2024-154

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Ortberg to approve the agenda. All in favor

No conflicts of interest or waivers.

2024-155

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Marx to approve minutes from April 8, 2024, regular board meeting, and financial reports as of April 2024. All in favor.

2024-156

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Ortberg to approve claim list for payment. All in favor.

2024-157

Moved by Marx and seconded by Luvaas to vote for West River At-large Representative(Superintendent) Mark Naugle, Custer School District for the SDHSAA Board of Directors. All in favor.

2024-158

Moved by Ortberg and seconded by McIntire to vote for Rich Crow Eagle, Tiospa Zina High School Native American At-Large Representative (AD) for the SDHSAA Board of Directors.. All in favor.

2024-159

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to vote yes on proposed Amendment No. 1 of SDHSAA Constitution, amend Chapter II, Part 1, Section 6, (Amateur Standing) of the SDHSAA by laws. All in favor.

2024-160

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Ortberg to approve the contract for the 2024-2025 school year between the Clark School District and the South Dakota Department of Health. All in favor.

2024-161

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to approve the contract with Expetec for the 2024-2025 school year. All in favor.

2024-162

Moved by Ortberg and seconded by McIntire to declare the following items surplus: Fly Cable Exercise Machine, Miscellaneous 1"-hole weighted plates, homemade plate rack, 2-45lb rubber bumper plates. All in favor.

Preliminary budget for the 2024-2025 was discussed.

2024-163

Moved by Marx and seconded by McIntire to affirm the nominating petitions of Nathan Luvaas, Troy Mudgett and Travis Peterson for the two-3 year seats and Todd Fjelland for the 1 year seat. All in favor.

2024-164

Moved by Ortberg and seconded by McIntire to approve the resignation of Susie Patenode as an Elementary Para-professional, effective at the end of the school year. All in favor.

γ	024	1	6	5
/.	1/4		u)

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to approve the resignation of Annie Spieker as Elementary Paraprofessional, effective at the end of the school year. All in favor.

2024-166

Moved by McIntire and seconded by Marx to approve contract for Betty McGraw as Head Volleyball Coach for the 2024-2025 school year.(4,840.00 stipend)

2024-167

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to enter executive session for items pertaining to SDCL 1-25-2(1)) SDCL 1-25-2(2) and SDCL 1-25-2(5) at 7:43pm. All in favor.

Open session resumed at 8:50pm.

2024-168

Moved by Luvaas and seconded by Marx to adjourn the May 13, 2024, regular board meeting at 8:51pm.

ATTEST Mary Nelson
Board Chairperson, Todd Fjelland Business Manager